Steve Banfield
3 min readJan 3, 2017

In 2016 I published just one blog post to my blog.

One. Single. Post.

It’s hard to call that even a post as in January 2016 I was happily reblogging a infographic on connected car hacking. Not much “personal” on this personal site. If you include my very limited series of stories on Medium.com, it’s been even longer (2015) since any kind of public writing has been a priority.

I certainly justified my lack of output with a combination of general dissatisfaction with my previous work, unhappiness with the look and feel but mostly just a complete lack of priority in the process. I’d spend a busy Saturday spending way too much time in research on whether I should move from WordPress.com to a self-hosted site, only to waste more time debating with myself whether to abandon it all for Medium.

Since becoming CEO of ReachNow in spring 2016, I’ve been pretty unable to focus on anything else besides growing our team. Like many startup CEOs everything else outside the team, including my writing, golf, lifting weights, running and photography, was put aside. That’s not healthy in the long term. It doesn’t make you a better CEO when you put so much focus on your work that you lose sight of everything else. It’s certainly not setting a good example as a leader.

Thus my goal in restarting this blog is to be a better CEO. By taking the time to really think through ideas, to learn from I’ve been through and to understand how best to share it, then I hope my performance as CEO will improve too. By not abandoning my other interests I can keep my creativity and energy high to accomplish all the big goals we have for 2017.

In the spirit of a fresh start I’ve updated the look and feel and even dropped in a new TLD domain name, stevebanfield.blog. I’d like to think it’s a better domain than the .net I was using before but that might just be the influence of my old team at Name.com. At the same time I’ve also used IFTTT (great tool!) to connect WordPress.com where my blog is hosted to Medium. I’ll cross post to both and see what happens. Finally while I didn’t publish anything last year I kept more than enough notes and posts to keep me busy.

I promise a lot more than a single post in 2017.

Filed under: Uncategorized Tagged: blogging, medium, wordpress, writing

Originally published on Wordpress

Steve Banfield

Former CEO of ReachNow, currently hiker, advisor and photographer. Kentucky born, Seattle based.