Dead & Company’s Final Trip

Steve Bloom
4 min readJun 22, 2023
Dead & Company poster, Citi Field, June 21–22, 2023

Dead & Company shows at New York’s Citi Field have always had something special to remember them by.

In 2019, John Mayer played Jerry Garcia’s old Wolf guitar on loan from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. That night, June 23, also saw two power outages, one during “Fire on the Mountain,” which the crowd ended up singing a cappella.

In 2021, on August 20, a fan fell to his death from the upper deck during the show.

Last year, on June 15, drummer Bill Kreutzmann rejoined the band after missing several shows with an injury. Kreutzmann has skipped the entire final Dead & Company tour that’s currently rolling around the country.

Dead & Company were at Citi Field last night and return there tonight for the group’s last -ever New York show. As the second set was about to begin, guitarist John Mayer informed the crowd:

“So, I threw out my back yesterday. But it’s my fault because I sat and then I got up. Thank you for understanding. I feel great. Someone gave me a white pill, so I took that. Someone gave me a blue pill, so I took that. And I think it’s going to be great, so thank you very much.”

Then the band launched into one of their psychedelic gems, “China Cat Sunflower,” with its meticulous jazz phrasing Garcia was famous for. After seven minutes, the song looped into “I…

--

--

Steve Bloom

I'm a longtime journalist and author with 30+ years covering cannabis. I'm a former editor of High Times and Freedom Leaf and co-author of "Pot Culture.”