Divine Madness: Bette Midler Calls Her 1979 Disco Album ‘Odious’

Steve Bloom
4 min readAug 4, 2024
Bette Midler’s 1979 disco album, “Thighs and Whispers”

In a recent interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Bette Midler was asked by Andrew Goldman:

What was the worst creative note you ever got?

“Sing disco.” And unfortunately, I did sing disco and it was practically the end of my creative life.

Interesting. You did one disco album [1979’s Thighs and Whispers]. Did it not do well?

It laid an egg, as they used to say, and I actually never really recovered from it. It was so far removed from what I believed in and loved, and I felt like such a sellout trying to chase the charts. In those days, the label A&R man was kind of in charge, and I didn’t have the guts to stand up to the label. I actually love dancing and dance music, but I [performed] these strange, odd numbers that were pandering, and I thought, that’s not for me. I don’t want to pander to anybody. And it was just an odd time in my life. I really did lose track of where I was. And that’s not a good thing when you’re a performing artist. My recording career was very checkered. Some albums were really good and some albums would just lay there. But this one was particularly odious, the disco.

I decided to listen to Midler’s fifth album Thighs and Whispers (a pun referring to the 1972 Ingmar Bergman film Cries & Whispers) to try to…

--

--

Steve Bloom

I'm a longtime journalist and author with 30+ years covering cannabis. I'm a former editor of High Times and Freedom Leaf and co-author of "Pot Culture.”