Outcarb Black Review — The Daniel Wellington Killer

Steve Davis
5 min readNov 14, 2019

--

Hey guys, my name is Steve Davis and here is my review of the Outcarb One Black.
I’ve titled this review “Outcarb Black Review — The Daniel Wellington Killer” for good reason.

I think Outcarb have come up clutch with this model and while it’s not the best watch in the world I do think it’s a very good looking stylish minimalist watch. With this modern design and slim case I think this is their attempt to crush the likes of Daniel Wellington.
Unfortunately I found it incredibly difficult to find any information about this watch so I’ve got no idea when this model was introduced.
Nevertheless here are a look at the specifications that are provided.
This watch comes in with a case diameter of 40 millimetres a depth of 8 millimeters and the case material is 316l stainless steel, the dial is covered with hardened glass and within the watch you’ll find mio — quartz movement but let’s take a look
at each part of the watch.
It has a stainless steel strap that looks very good, it’s actually a strap that you can find on the Daniel Wellington I recently reviewed so it’s quite usable.
Regarding the case, this one is made of the industry standard 316l stainless steel, this is the same material that you’ll see in many more expensive watches and in this Outcarb watch it seems to be of surprisingly good quality despite the
price point, this is better than the chrome-plated brass used in similar watches like the Timex Fairfield and the steel used here does seem to be better than the similar steel used in Daniel Wellington for instance.

The Outcarb Black, as the name suggests has a killer feature, a black minimalist case that offers a great level of scratch protection which is fantastic value considering the retail price of this
piece. The case has a high shine finish throughout and has a small crown to match the minimalist vibe. This one does have some grip but overall performs ok when turning, the proportions of this watch are going to be ideal for loads of guys, 40 millimetres is a good
sweet spot although in an ideal world I’d love a 38 millimeter version of this, that would suit my small wrist size even better but I love how slim this case is this allows it to sit flush to my wrist and easily lets the watch slip
under tight sleeves.

Over this very good looking case it has a hardened glass that’s looks awesome. The vast majority of watches at this price point have the slightly weaker acrylic glass so this is an excellent selling point for Outcarb. It gives you the peace of mind
to be able to wear this watch freely without worrying about scuffs or scrapes
I don’t find myself dropping watches regularly or hitting them with hammers so I think for most guys this glass is a more optimal choice which is why I’m so pleased to see it on this watch.

The design of the dial is one of the key reasons I was drawn to this watch, it offers a classic minimalist aesthetic with slim hour and second markers around the perimeter. I’d say this watch definitely takes inspiration from some of the
similarly designed models and also has some of the typical Bauhaus design.

The logo is relatively small and in the regular central position, whilst the hands are slim and button style, I describe this particular variant as having a all-black color and does have a slight texture to it when you analyze it up close.
I think it gives it a nice finish compared to the flat white dials used by loads of fashion watch brands. There are some Silver and Rose (see Outcarb One Silver and Outcarb One Rose) variants of this watch too which look absolutely gorgeous.

I’m considering picking one of those up as well for future reviews.

Overall, this results in a watch that is very versatile and can easily be dressed up and down to suit a variety of occasions. I think this could function well has a low cost dress watch to add to a budget collection and while
this design may be a bit plain for some, I think it’s gonna have a bit more of that mass appeal.

Inside this watch is a my outer one l45 quartz movement, this is a basic durable quartz movement that comes in around 9 pounds to buy individually. It supports a small second hand function of this Outcarb watch.
Considering the cost of the watch I’d say this is a decent movement and it’s a step up from the generic Chinese quartz movements used by loads of cheap brands this is an incredibly similar movement if not a slightly better one then used in lots of
the cheap fashion watch brands that cost multiple times this Outcarb One Black.
I think the Outcarb Black offers awesome value for money in the sub 100 pound price category, you get an attractive minimalist watch with great glass and solid construction for a remarkably low cost.
I don’t think it’s realistically going to compete with the huge brands but I definitely take one of these over the likes of a Daniel Wellington. These offer a very similar minimalist look but a better quality and you could literally buy multiple of
these for the same price as one Daniel Wellington.

The Outcarb watchcurrently is retailing for a ridiculously low amount of money because is in beta testing at the moment I’m writing this review. If you want to grab one and obviously prices will fluctuate over time but I’d say if you’re paying
under about 80 or 90 pounds you still getting a great deal with this watch.

I’ve really struggled to find too much to criticize as I mentioned earlier in a super ideal world if this was closer to 38 millimeters I think it would suit my slim wrist slightly better also the lugs are a tiny bit on the long side if they
were shorter too, I’d like it even more. A better strap will be optimal as well but really, when you spend in this little, what can you expect and the good thing with this Outcarb watch is you’re likely to have plenty of money left over to spend on
whatever strap you want.

If you’d like to see more of these wristwatch reviews, make sure you press that share button and I’ll see in the next one.

--

--

Steve Davis
0 Followers

Published author & lecturer. Football fan and husband.