Paul McCartney’s touching letter to Harry Nilsson’s son

Steve Marinucci
4 min readFeb 17, 2019

Zak Nilsson, the oldest son of the late singer Harry Nilsson’s seven children, posted Feb. 16 on social media that he had received a letter from Paul McCartney after the former Beatles bassist had learned Nilsson was being treated for cancer. The letter was dated Feb. 4.

“I got this letter from Paul McCartney the other day. He heard I had cancer and sent me this note. I was very touched that Harry’s friendship meant this much to Paul,” Nilsson wrote on Facebook.

The text of McCartney’s letter:

“Paul McCartney here. Steven Kalinich wrote to me to let me know that you are about to have chemo, so I am sending you this note to encourage you to be strong and positive.

“I was privileged to know your Dad whom I knew as a lovely guy and a great talent. I wish you the very best of luck with the treatment. My wife, Nancy, went through it years ago and stuck with it even though she hated it. She is now better and well, except for the fact she is married to me!!

“Sending the very best vibrations to you. Be well. Love Paul.”

--

--