Uploading files to S3 using React.js hooks & react-aws-s3

Steven Creates
5 min readFeb 11, 2020

Learn how to upload files to AWS S3 using React, React Hooks and Modern React Soluitons

Photo by Piotr Cichosz on Unsplash

In this article the following will be accomplished.

1. Understand how to grab a file with an input using react.

2. Uploading that file to your Amazon S3 bucket with the npm package react-aws-s3

Index:

  • Follow Along
  • Quick Start (scroll to bottom)

Note: You will need to sign up for an Amazon S3 bucket (they have free options) to do this. From my experience, if you don’t already have one. It takes 12–72hrs to get approved.

Before we start, I wanted to say thank you for taking the time to read my guide + article. I really enjoy providing easy and helpful examples to the community. If you end up loving my article please give it a clap. Or if there is something you would like me to add please comment. I can’t get better without your feedback. Thanks again!

Follow Along

Step 1: bootstrap react

We need to create our react app. In this example I’m using create-react-app. If you aren’t familiar with this…

--

--

Steven Creates

Software Engineer with 7+ years of hands-on experience designing, developing, and implementing. Focusing on React + Animations + TypeScript + Storybookjs