Why I unplugged from ‘The Facebook’.

It’s easier than you think!

Steve Cole
6 min readNov 17, 2016

My name is Steve and I had a Facebook problem. It’s been 4 weeks since I last logged in. I can honestly say I’m now a happier person.

To not access my account in 4 weeks from a daily habit of logging in several times an hour has been surprisingly easy. I’ll go on to describe the few easy steps it took to break the habit. And that is all it was; a bad habit that needed breaking.

I’d like to think I got into this situation because of my job. For the past five years I’ve worked in marketing and communications, where a large part of my job has been working with brands and organisations across their social media platforms. But that isn’t what kept me logging in.

I had to face facts. I had become a ‘Newsfeed Zombie’. Mindlessly scrolling, wasting my day, and gaining absolutely nothing from it. Things had to change.

It’s not me, it’s you. You’ve changed…

I joined FB in 2009 (aged 27) at a time when I was living in a new city, away from friends and family and found it a great way to get in touch with old acquaintances.

I remember the old profiles. The ones where it only ever held your last 5 posts and once you posted another the bottom one disappeared (or that’s what…

--

--

Steve Cole

I write about my love-hate relationship with new media.