Future art

Eye Candy AI
3 min readJun 18, 2024

--

Generative AI art has become a divisive issue. I see it as liberating because it allows me to come close to directly translating the ideas in my head to a medium. Others see it as an abomination because it requires no skill. I’d say, like many things, the truth lies somewhere in the middle.

For some backstory, I used to exercise my “idea muscles” for about four hours a day while riding the bus to and from work during my commute. Luckily, I could afford an iPod and some inspiring electronica. I had journals full of ideas, but they never led to anything. I would come up with story ideas, screenplays, or novels. Sometimes a business idea would flash in my mind, and I’d jot that down, too. I had images swirling in my head, but I work with words, and my drawing ability is atrocious. I did this exercise to strengthen my “idea muscles” for many, many years until I finally got off the bus for good.

Today I am an idea machine. But what is an idea? Well, let’s ask ChatGPT:

Me: Is there a clear definition of the word “idea”?

ChatGPT: An “idea” is generally defined as a thought or suggestion about a possible course of action or a mental representation of something. It can be a concept, an impression, or an understanding formed in the mind. Here’s a more detailed definition:

An idea is:
1. A formulated thought or opinion.
2. A possible course of action or plan.
3. An image or representation of an object or concept formed in the mind.
4. An intention or purpose.
5. A principle or concept that can be developed or elaborated on.

The term can be applied broadly, ranging from simple notions to complex theories or inventions. It encapsulates both the creative process and the end result of that process.

I guess that’s a clear definition of “idea.” Or not. But I do a lot of that and am somewhat good at some of it. Visualizing a few seconds of a scene from a movie I thought of. Naming characters. Giving characters backstories. I can create about twenty or thirty plot points per premise for a story. I can hear what they sound like.

But with all these “ideas” generated, the execution is absent. Take all the ideas that I’ve come up with that were never made and just toss them. Poof! They’re gone. That’s what it feels like not being able to execute an idea to its end. That’s how it is for all of us. Everyone is an “idea machine,” and if only they had the right tool, they could execute to the end, just like I could.

Technologies are emerging that might finally bridge this gap. For example, research in neural mapping is making strides towards translating thoughts directly into computer commands. A recent article highlights how an ALS patient uses a brain implant to communicate by transmitting neural signals to a computer, enabling him to perform tasks without physical movement​ (AOL.com)​​ (Popular Science)​​ (Human Progress)​.

Additionally, AI is revolutionizing content creation. There’s exciting progress in developing AI that can generate entire video games from scratch. According to recent advancements, AI systems are being trained to understand game design elements and autonomously create fully playable video games, potentially transforming the industry.

Scientists are developing technologies that can interpret and visualize dreams. A study from Kyoto, Japan, showed how a learning algorithm, coupled with MRI readings, could predict the images seen by dreamers with about 60% accuracy​ (Smithsonian Magazine)​. This kind of technology brings us closer to understanding the mysterious nature of our dreams and could have profound implications for both science and creativity.

While generative AI art and other emerging technologies have sparked debate, they hold incredible potential for turning ideas into reality. Whether through translating thoughts into actions, generating entire video games, or visualizing our dreams, these advancements are bridging the gap between imagination and execution. To conclude, as these tools continue to evolve, they will empower more people to bring their ideas to life, transforming the way we create and innovate.

--

--