The Hoosac Tunnel is still Haunted

Steven Jayko
3 min readMar 8, 2019

--

The Hoosac Tunnel, West Portal, circa 1874

This is by far, the most important story I have ever done. I know the Eagle would disagree, but this is something that Berkshire county needs to hear about. How can a story not be important to the community if it is about members of the community? The woman this story is about has asked to keep her last name private. Her name is Jeanie, a new resident of North Adams and she has been experiencing something incredible. I’m actually the first person so far to listen to her, the whole way through.

The Hoosac tunnel we all live our lives around, is just as active as it was during construction in the 1800s. The tunnel is a 4 3/4 mile long railroad tunnel that was blasted through the Hoosac mountain using nitroglycerin a couple of centuries ago. The working conditions were unsafe and the technology was brand new. The explosive experts were hardly experts and the politics during the era tripled the construction time originally proposed. Explosions were mistimed, dangerous gases and water flooded the tunnel. Over 200 men lost their lives to this project. If you want to read about it for yourself, check out the story map I’ve attached below.

Jeanie is a mother of two who loves to hike with her twin girls. She moved here with her husband to be closer to family. I found her through her personal blog she started as a way to cope with the strange things she’s been experiencing with the tunnel. We met for coffee this morning to talk about some of the things she has been dealing with.

SJ: How do you like the area Jeanie?

J: It’s a beautiful place! I love all the woods and the fresh air. I could do without the ghosts haunting them though haha.

SJ: Tell me about the ghosts Jeanie, when was the first time you saw them?

J: I didn’t see anything the first time. I heard a man crying from inside the tunnel. I looked all over but I couldn’t see anyone. I called the police, and they said they didn’t see anyone either. Although, I don’t know if I believe they actually went and looked for him.

SJ: Did you know that people have been reporting what you heard for hundreds of years now?

J: I do now! No one believed me when I told them. Even my husband told me I was probably just hearing things.

SJ: No Jeanie! I don’t think so! Ever since the tunnel was constructed, there are hundreds of reports of visitors hearing exactly what you described! They even saw the same kind of figure of a man you told me about.

Inside the tunnel

J: Oh yeah, that really freaked me out. He was wearing a helmet and gray worker clothes. He looked so sad Steve he really did. It looked like he had been in that tunnel for a long time.

SJ: I think he has been Jeanie. Now tell me about the video you took. What was that noise in the background?

J: What video?

SJ: The video I found on youtube, you went into the tunnel on Wednesday right? The video was posted around 6 p.m.

J: Oh no Steve I went in at 9. I couldn’t go until the girls were in bed.

I showed her the video and she hadn’t seen it. I have no idea where it came from, but I’m attaching it to this article in the hopes that one of you know where it came from. Thank you so much to Jeanie for meeting with me, and thank you to everyone for reading. I’ll never stop reporting on the stories that matter to this community.

--

--

Steven Jayko

I used to work for the Berkshire Eagle. I was recently let go, they didn’t think my stories were important enough for the public. I’ll be sharing them here.