It is never about you

Steven Ma
1 min readJul 6, 2019

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

J.T. O’Donnell’s The WRONG Answer to: “Why Do You Want THIS Job?”​ inspired me to write this post.

When presented with the question, “Why do you want this job?”, most candidates hear this

“Why do YOU want this job?”

But if you think this is all about you, then you have already failed.

Let’s be frank, interviewers don’t really care what’s in it for you. What they really care is this: If you’re hired, how will you…

  • Make a difference
  • Make them better
  • Solve their problems

The way you answer this question reveals not just what motivates you, but whether you get why this job was created in the first place. Putting it bluntly, it’s not about you, it’s about what you can do for the employer.

Demonstrating that you get it could be the differentiator between you and the next qualified candidate who is just as good, if not better than you.

For more articles like this from me, check out /stevenmadesigns.

PS — I teach a 1-day UX Design bootcamp. I’d love it if you can help me spread the words: You can find my current schedule here. Thanks in advance!

--

--