10 Years of Gratitude

Steve Wanta
8 min readDec 29, 2015

--

2015 is a year to never forget. It is the end of two important chapters in my life, bachelorhood and my career with Whole Planet Foundation. This letter was inspired by Hudson Baird’s post.

Ten years ago, I sat enveloped by the smell of coffee in a Starbucks with a nervous pit in my stomach as I called the same cell phone number for the fifth time. Finally, an answer and an annoyed voice on the other end: “Who is this?”

Just one week earlier I received an email that knocked me out of my chair in complete amazement. Monster.com auto-sent me a list of jobs that fit my criteria and at the bottom of the list — the dream job of all jobs. It was so perfect I couldn’t even fathom it was possible. Whole Foods Market started a new foundation that was supporting microcredit around the world and they needed someone to do something. It didn’t make any sense that a grocery store would spend time and money helping people in poverty which was (seemingly) removed from their core business.

After shaking off the initial shock that it was in fact a real job, my competitive drive kicked in. Certainly, thousands of people would apply so how would I be sure the Executive Director, Philip Sansone would not overlook me? I thought long and hard. Not everyone reads emails and especially someone so important and busy like Philip. But everyone opens FedEx packages. So that is exactly what I did, I Fedexed Philip my resume; well sort of.

Since I just got out of the Peace Corps, my budget was tight and my level of frugality high. With résumé and cover letter in hand, I walked to the OfficeMax across from the Whole Foods Market’s headquarters, picked up a (free) FedEx box, and hand-delivered my package.

The first Whole Foods Market Team Member to ever greet me was Chalisa. At the time she was the office receptionist. She looked at me a little confused; a non-FedEx employee, delivering a FedEx package. Naturally she asked, “What’s inside the box?”

“My résumé for Whole Planet Foundation. It’s hard to explain but it feels as if the job were written for me. I just finished the Peace Corps in Guatemala and couldn’t imagine a more ideal opportunity.”

She smiled, opened the package and said, “Don’t worry, I can email it to the hiring manager.”

My plan was foiled. The FedEx box would not reach Philip.

But Chalisa did something out of the ordinary that she didn’t need to do. “Do you want the Executive Director’s contact information? You seem like you should work at Whole Foods.”

She kindly gave me Philip’s email and cell phone number. Immediately a pit in my stomach formed. It was a mixture of excitement, anxiety, and pure possibilities. I did not sleep for the next three weeks, waking intermittently dreaming of what might be.

“Who is this?” sneered Philip.

Just as I had rehearsed a million times, “My name is Steve Wanta and I am calling about the Program Manager position for Whole Planet Foundation.”

“I am on the top of a mountain in Guatemala. I don’t have time for this. Call me when I am back in Austin.”

“Guatemala? I just finished the Peace Corps in Guatemala. What mountain?” I knew at that moment, if I didn’t get the next meeting, my dream may have faded away.

“Really? Look, we are just starting the hiring process. Send me your résumé and we can schedule a time to meet.”

It was one of the most exciting moments in my life.

Little gestures can go a long way. Thank you, Chalisa for feeling that I belonged in the Whole Foods family.

But this crazy journey would not have been possible without the Peace Corps. The two years of service living in rural Guatemala gave me the opportunity to be ready for Whole Planet Foundation. It also birthed a deep sense of empathy for the rest of the world. I learned first-hand that I can never really know what it feels like to be in someone else’s shoes but I can appreciate their journey. Like most Peace Corps volunteers will tell you, I learned far more than I taught.

Learn by doing. Thank you, Peace Corps for creating an opportunity to connect with people and communities in a meaningful way, forming connections that will last a lifetime.

While in Guatemala, I made some of the greatest friends of my life starting with Brian. His legendary sense of humor makes people feel at home even if they are far from it. He is one of the few people in my life that I trust completely and can count on regardless of the amount of time that has passed. He truly is a brother from another mother. Matteo, Jay, Laura, Alexandra, Trisha, and many more created a community that transcended both family and friendship.

Who else would get into a Mexican wrestling ring and allow you to do this to him? I am the guy in the white.

It doesn’t matter where you are as long as you are with good people. Thank you, Peace Corps friends for showing me I was not alone.

March 3rd, 2006, I started my dream job; better put, I was thrown into the fire known as my dream job. On my second day of work, Philip asked me to manage the Whole Planet Foundation booth at the largest gathering of Whole Foods Team Members to explain the work of the foundation. Up until that point, I had only shopped at Whole Foods twice before and knew little about the vision for Whole Planet.

Fake it until you make it. Thank you, Philip for believing I could figure it out. Your mentorship has helped me discover my personal and professional purpose in life.

For the next two years I would live more in Central America than in Austin. During that time, my friend and teacher was Alomgir. He was the head of Grameen Guatemala and educated me on the intricacies of lending small amounts of money to and from some of the poorest people in the world. He left his family and career of 20+ years with Grameen Bank in Bangladesh to start something new. Through struggles both personal and professional, Alomgir didn’t lose sight of his why.

With purpose in work, there is purpose in life. Thank you, Alomgir for teaching me about more than just microcredit.

As Whole Planet Foundation found its stride, raised more money, and gained clarity of purpose, Philip challenged me again to reach as many Whole Foods Market countries as possible. The company trades with over a hundred countries so the potential for Whole Planet projects was vast. We had to create a team.

Brian, Evan, Daniel, Claire, Armando, and Victor were the co-conspirators in developing a philosophy that evolved over time. We worked together to make something special. Today we can look back with pride on more than 130+ projects in 70 countries and more than $70MM given to organizations that are making the world a better place. Here is a video that gives a glimpse into the work and travel I have done for the past 10 years.

Produced by Whole Foods Market’s Angus Cann

Good people do good work. Thank you, Team for your patience and understanding as I stumbled through the process of being a leader.

For the first five years with Whole Planet Foundation, I was on the road more often than not and started to yearn for a sense of belonging. As our team grew so did the opportunity to travel less and build a community in Austin.

On August 12th, 2011, Center61 was born.

s

Thinking back on the idea now, it is ludicrous. I traveled 50+% of the time and really did not know anyone in Austin. I had one friend, Matteo that was a member of a coworking space, Conjunctured and it seemed like a cool business idea. It was an opportunity to fill missing aspects of my life all at once: build community, experiment with entrepreneurship, and connect with a city I did not know. The first group of friends and acquaintances that were part of the earliest conversations gave me enough confidence to believe Center61 was possible.

Trust the blink. Thank you, Maggie, Will, Scott, Chelsea, Alexandra and many of the earliest supporters of Center61; your encouragement and help have meant more to me than words can describe.

The Center61 experience has enriched my life in so many ways. It gave me an opportunity to appreciate the entrepreneurial journey. Making decisions and taking risks feels very different when it is your own money. It could have been a very lonely proposition had it not been for Christina. I was initially introduced to Christina by my Peace Corps brother, Brian. Immediately, I knew she was smart, passionate and the missing piece of Center61.

For the next 4 years, Christina became the heart and soul of the Center61 community. But more importantly, we have become partners in life. She is my best friend. On December 1st, I asked Christina to marry me.

Life is better with bumps. Center61 has not been easy but it pushed me to be more. Thank you, Christina for being my partner in this great ride of life.

The last ten years has shown me that we don’t do it alone. At many times I have needed the help of others. It is part of our responsibility to return the favor whenever we can. From that idea emerged BeersBigIdeas. A work in progress, it has been a labor of joy with another brother from another mother, Zane. Two years ago, it started out as an idea that blossomed into a road trip and now is taking on a life of its own. Check out the website, podcast, blog, and eventual book to discover a new philosophy in the making.

Zane and Steve flying Dronie 1 with the African Wildlife Anti-Poaching Team

Remove expectations and allow for the unexpected. Thank you, Zane for encouraging me to live into my strength. You are a shining example of the mantra, “Let’s get uncomfortable.”

At the end of 2014 back in Guatemala where this journey had begun for me with new friends Zane and DL, I declared 2015 would be about letting go. Letting go of expectations, old ways of thinking, and anything else that might hold me back from taking the big leap. The close of 2015 will mark the end of two important chapters: 1) bachelorhood and 2) my time with Whole Planet Foundation. On January 1st, 2016, I will launch a venture that is rooted in the same philosophies of Whole Foods and Whole Planet. Learn more here. It has been an honor and a privilege to be a part of such amazing organizations. I am humbled by the people I have met, worked with and served.

First things first. None of this would have been possible without the love of my parents and the encouragement of my brother. Thank you; Mom, Dad, and John for being my security blanket that gave me the strength to believe in myself.

--

--

Steve Wanta

Working to create new opportunities for people to live with less stress and more joy