James Bryson
3 min readJun 24, 2015

ac·com·plish·ment /əˈkämpliSHmənt/
noun
something that has been achieved successfully.

When Android phones hit the scene oh so many years ago I was smitten. I don’t know that I’d call myself antiestablishment, but I certainly root for the underdog and try not to be a lemming on as many fronts as possible. Hence why I chose Android over iPhone.

What I liked most, at the time, was the customizability of the platform. I enjoyed reading articles about those who rooted and ROMed their phones to eek out the most power and functionality of the hardware they could. I tried rooting once with my original Motorola DROID and failed miserably. I blame the particular phone I had since there were things going on with it that were not normal…hence the replacement within the first year. But I had such a bad taste from that first experience that it was not something I pursued.

In all actuality, I started thinking of the phone more as a tool and lifeline than toy so I really took care of each of them and this trail continues today.

So let me tell you about my tablet!

In early 2012 I purchased a Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9. It was the goldilocks of the time; not too big (the large tablets of the day were 10 and 12 inchers) and not too small (the small ones were usually 7 inchers, as they are today). Yes, 8.9 fit the bill perfectly and I got a great deal from Best Buy that included the Samsung docking keyboard! I also purchased an accessory bundle with a stylus, some connectors and a couple of cases including a leather folio that is still in great shape today!

For the last three years, as I am writing this in 2015, this little tablet has served me well. The issue, though, lies in the lack of support from the manufacturer on software updates, which topped out with Android Ice Cream Sandwich (ICS). This causes big issues when you try to get the latest app updates and find out that your device is too old and the app is not compatible with it.

Now don’t get me wrong, there is truly nothing wrong with ICS or any of the apps out there. I still like it today, I am just starting to get to the point where ICS isn’t cutting it since there are things I want to do and can’t.

Si what’s a bloke to do in this situation you ask? Well, there just happens to be a HUGE development community out there who thinks that all devices that can handle the newer operating systems should have them. And!!! There’s a whole section dedicated to my Galaxy Tab 8.9!!!

Through the community and a couple of YouTube videos I found I was able to do the impossible, after a little frustration, and install the latest available Android build on my Tab. No it’s not perfect but it will allow me to do the things I want to do with the Tab and it didn’t cost me anything but a little time. And yes there were a few long moments when I thought it wouldn’t work and that I bricked my little Tab but a little perseverance and educated guessing saved the day.

The biggest drawback is the keyboard dock. It does not work currently but I’m certain that I will find someone who has figured that one out!

So my accomplishment was me going beyond my comfort zone, trusting myself and others, and to follow through with a goal. Not too bad for a June weekend in 2015.