RedisConf 2018: Big news, keynote demo, class, contest and more!

Kyle
2 min readApr 5, 2018

--

Last June, I went to RedisConf and it was a blast. I met so many people and learned quite a bit, oh, and I got a job working with Redis full-time out of it. All-in-all, I’d say it was a success for me. This year, the conference is a bit earlier — later this month — April 24–26th, but I think it’s going to be even better.

On the personal front, I’ve been asked to build a huge demo for the keynote! This keynote is going to have everything:

  • Redis streams for real-time ingest
  • Live indexing with RediSearch
  • Dynamically updating visualizations
  • And one super secret, very exciting new feature that I can’t talk about yet.
I’m capturing live news then using streams and feeding it through web sockets into D3.

Here is a little sneak preview of a D3 word cloud I’ve adapted that may make it in.

The other big thing is that I’m teaching in the training at RedisConf. I’ve done a few Redis workshops before but this training is a full, hands-on experience. I’ll be facilitating the “introductory” and may make an appearance in the advanced training. We’ll see. So, if you’re a regular reader and you’ve always wanted to learn from me in person, sign up for the training.

Finally, I’ll also be presenting about fraud mitigation and analytics using Redis with my colleague Leena Joshi. This is a surprisingly fun topic. There is something that feels… I don’t know… sneaky about detecting fraudulent activity or traffic but I mean that in a good way. I just have to put myself in the shoes of those who would try to do something nefarious and that’s always fun.

Now, for the contest. I’ve been given a few free tickets to the conference and I’ve allotted them to you, my dear readers. To win, highlight a passage in this article that you are most excited about and write a few words in a private note. I’ll keep it private. If you win, I’ll respond back in this note (see how to gif below)

If you’re too bashful to write me a note, you can sign up to attend by visiting redisconf.com.

--

--

Kyle

Developer of things. Node.js + all the frontend jazz. Also, not from Stockholm, don’t do UX. Long story.