Spotting the Indian Chameleon in Hyderabad’s own Miyawaki Forest.

Stonecraft Group
4 min readNov 6, 2023

--

Meet India’s Incredible Chameleons at WOODS.
The Master of Disguise: Indian Chameleon

What a remarkable sight — behold my incredible experience with the master of disguise. I had the pleasure of spotting the Indian Chameleon.

My name is Sriram Reddy, and my relationship with professional wildlife photography takes me back ten years. Ever since I worked in IT, I have had an affinity for wildlife photography. I enjoy going on treks and hikes and documenting wildlife. My prime interest lies in birds, but I do love the occasional critter.

For many years, I have been intrigued by the Indian Chameleon. Locally known otherwise as the Indian Girgit, the land animal was always shown in cartoons as a magical creature who would adopt the same colour and patterns as its background when in danger. My amusement with chameleons grew into a fascination. But they remained a mystery to me as I had never met one in actuality.

I encountered road kills and had even witnessed one crossing the road, but the moment I parked my car and attempted to get a closer look, it seemed to vanish into thin air. It was puzzling how such a slow-moving creature remained elusive to me over the years.

The elusive Indian Chameleon and its fascinating features
The elusive Indian Chameleon and its fascinating features

Making Acquaintance with the Indian Chameleon

It was finally years later at WOODS @ Shamshabad that I encountered my first Indian Chameleon. Over two separate occasions, I learnt more about the arboreal animal than I did through years of research.

The first contact was during one of my Sunday morning bird-watching expeditions at WOODS @ Shamshabad. My posse of bird-watchers and I were walking through the Mango Grove. We almost didn’t notice the sneaky chameleon who had skillfully blended into the foliage of one of the mango trees, possibly in pursuit of its prey.

I stepped aside from the group to take a few photographs and videos before resuming my regularly scheduled nature walk in the hopes of returning to this sight. Unfortunately, when I returned alone half an hour later, the chameleon moved to a different location. Naturally, I was disappointed but not surprised.

The Indian Chameleon amidst mango leaves
The Indian Chameleon amidst mango leaves

Second Time’s the Charm

It was recently, barely a month ago, when I got the chance I was looking for. Sharath — a partner at Stonecraft Group and the MD of Ariko Cafe- and I were on a casual stroll of the property. We were joined by his sister and baby niece, who had recently returned from the States. As we were touring in a buggy, hoping to see peacocks, we spotted the Indian Chameleon attempting to cross the road.

Very cautiously, we stopped the buggy on the side of the road, fetched a stick and gingerly approached it. My audience was utterly thrilled to spot the elusive creature — and I, of course, had to play it cool despite my excitement.

Green Girgit at WOODS @ Shamshabad
Green Girgit at WOODS @ Shamshabad

Green Chameleon: A Case Study

As we shifted the chameleon to a safe spot on the other side of the road, I took this opportunity to study the fascinating animal. I set it on a branch and took some photos.

It taught me a lesson on adaptability and busted quite a few myths I had about its colour-changing abilities.

Contrary to popular belief, chameleons do not “camouflage” based on their background. Instead, they transition from green and brown to a spectrum of colours to communicate with their species. They also regulate their body temperature by changing to a lighter colour to cool themselves and a darker shade to retain heat.

A cool chameleon enjoying the pleasant morning at WOODS
A cool chameleon enjoying the pleasant morning at WOODS

The chameleon had independently moving eyes and a unique foot structure called zygodactyl feet. Its slow, deliberate movements seemed like it was hunting for insects and was seemingly unbothered by our presence — a good sign for the chameleon population in what will be a thriving residential area.

Improvise, Adapt, Overcome

There are positive signs of finding a booming chameleon population at WOODS @ Shamshabad. The critters are known for their adaptive nature, blending seamlessly into the colourful and collaborative ecosystem of the Miyawaki forest.

I have been lucky enough to spot elusive species in this man-made forest, and the Indian Chameleon seems like the neighbour you only hear about but never see.

Chameleons prefer their personal space and are not social creatures
Chameleons prefer their personal space and are not social creatures

This master of disguise taught Sharath’s baby niece — that one can learn from the animal kingdom and thrive even in unexpected places.

As we expand our cities and build homes, we often forget that we share this planet with many creatures, each with its unique role in the ecosystem. We took our photos and let the chameleon go about its business. After all, it was busy trying not to be seen!

This blog is written by wildlife photographer Sriram Reddy. Reach him at @sriram.wildlife.photographer on Instagram

--

--

Stonecraft Group

Multidisciplinary real estate company that favours the interests of the environment. We build with a bias towards nature.