Advocating for Representation with Shannon Komguem

Author: Emily Nguyen

s t o r i e s o f W I S E
3 min readFeb 24, 2020

To round off Black History Month, I had the pleasure of interviewing Shannon Komguem, a 2nd year student majoring in Computer Science, Statistics, and Mathematics at the University of Toronto (U of T). After attending several events organized by the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) in her 1st year, Shannon felt compelled to join their executive team. She is currently the Promotions Chair of the organization’s U of T chapter.

Shannon Komguem: Promotions Chair of the National Society of Black Engineers, U of T Chapter

Since joining the NSBE, Shannon reminisces that she has had many opportunities to contribute to the Black community at U of T. In addition to engineering focused events, the club has hosted cultural events which have drawn Black students from many diverse backgrounds.

I’ve always noticed that U of T has a very small Black community, so it feels good to bring Black students together, to speak about relevant cultural topics, and create friendships.

These events have strengthened ethnic communities around campus and helped students find their niche at such a large institution.

I also asked Shannon what she thinks can be done to encourage ethnic minorities to pursue higher education.

An important solution that I always advocate for is representation! It is uplifting to see that these days there is a larger representation of women in STEM, but we still have a long way to go. I think that by sharing the stories of Black women in STEM, we create an attainable goal for young Black girls who are gifted in STEM. It is so much easier to see yourself attaining your goal when you have someone to look up to.

Her response demonstrates the importance of leading by example. By highlighting the achievements and life paths of female leaders, the next generation will follow suite. Providing equal opportunity for success and growth, regardless of ethnicity, will help end the perpetual cycle of underrepresentation currently visible in STEM fields.

Speaking of role models, Shannon credits her father as being a pivotal figure in the pursuit of her personal goals. Having grown up in a predominantly non-black community, Shannon emphasizes that she didn’t have much exposure to accomplished African or African-American scientists. Consequently, she drew her inspiration from a close source. Shannon’s father studied physics and even conducted research projects with NASA.

When I was younger, I wanted to become an astronomer because of my father, and I still find space sciences to be a fascinating field of study. My dad has always supported me in my scientific endeavours and to this day, he is my main source of encouragement when I feel lost in the sea of U of T students. He taught me to put faith in myself and my abilities, which is a quality that I have learned is essential in navigating university successfully.

Shannon’s thoughtful insights serve as inspiration, motivating the next generation of STEM students to trust their abilities and pursue their passions. Actions speak louder than words, and by providing talented individuals with a platform to demonstrate their skills, we will continue to move towards equal representation.

Follow us on Instagram @ storiesofwise !

--

--

s t o r i e s o f W I S E

Our mission is to empower women in STEM fields by sharing their achievements, challenges, and life stories. Follow us on Instagram @storiesofwise !