Celebrating Black History Month with the WISE of Today: Lina Elfaki

s t o r i e s o f W I S E
4 min readMar 1, 2018

--

Lina Elfaki, a IMS MSc student at the University of Toronto. (Photos used in this article have been provided by Lina Abdullatif.)

During the month of February, we sat down with some amazing black women in science and engineering to talk about their career paths, challenges they have faced, and their advice to other WISE in the field.

Our final featured woman in this series is Lina Elfaki! She is currently a Master’s student in IMS at the University of Toronto.

Hey Lina, thanks for interviewing with us!

Can you tell us a bit about how you ended up in STEM ? Why did you choose this path?

Even when I was at the age of 6, my grandpa said, “I would rather look after a tiger than take care of Lina.”

He didn’t say that because I was a troublesome child, but rather because I was wild and carefree. I pushed limits. I was determined and I did not let anyone define my limits.

You can now imagine how I felt when family friends and distant relatives told me things like “You should consider alternative career paths. At some point you will need to raise a family. Medicine is too demanding.” I learned to smile and calmly say, “I know I can do both.”

What else can I do when the teaching hospital in my hometown of Khartoum, Sudan has a broken and rusty resuscitator, and regularly runs out of needles and gloves? Training there, I witnessed a nurse stare frantically at a 15 year boy suffering from an electric shock as he realized that besides manual CPR, there wasn’t much he could do to save the boy.

From that experience, I knew I had no choice but to be stubborn and put in 110% for those people. I feel the responsibility to one day go back to aid my hometown and my Sudan.

Even now, even though I study at one of Canada’s most prestigious institution that continuously celebrates STEM innovations, I know that the lives of my relatives and others like them are often forgotten. To me, the essence of STEM lies in the impact it has on bettering our everyday lives and in reaching marginalized communities suffering in silence.

Did you ever have any fears about fitting in at school and in your program?

I am an Immigrant Muslim Black Woman in STEM.

Every one of these descriptors carries its own set of prejudices and challenges. When I had originally researched the University of Toronto online, what stood out to me was its size. That did not intimidate me though. I considered that as an opportunity to meet diverse individuals from all cultural, racial and academic backgrounds.

However, in my undergraduate classes, I was often the only black student. With no one to relate to racially, no one to practice the mother language with, and no one to celebrate cultural holidays with, I found myself feeling at loss for my identity. I would often watch Youtube videos of Sudan and played Sudanese music to remind me of my hometown.

Honestly, if I didn’t travel back home often, I do not think I would have survived my undergraduate studies. I needed to be grounded and to remember why I was doing what I do. My family and my close friends supported and encouraged me to persevere.

In your opinion, what is the greatest hindrance to racial harmony? Why?

I think that, often, when an institution aims for racial inclusion, they target people who fit neatly in their idea of diversity. This actually further marginalizes communities. I am black but I am also Arab. Putting me under one umbrella forces me to prioritize my identities.

As well, looking back, I realize I’ve never had a black professor. That means that, unlike most of my peers, I could not seek advice from a mentor or role model who shared my beliefs or struggles. Fortunately, now there are programs like the University of Toronto’s Community of Support that connect individuals with mentors who share their challenges. I think that these programs have been essential in advocating for diversity in academia and industry.

What advice to you have to other students of ethnic minorities that would like to pursue science or engineering?

I encourage any prospective students to be proud of their identity and origin, however complicated it may be. Do not shy away from explaining where your hometown is or the struggle you undertook to get here. We can not expect leadership to include us as valuable members of society if we shy away from marketing our experiences and cultural facets.

Lastly, do your best, as you may be the only representative of your community. Once you reach a position of leadership, advocate for your people’s inclusion!

— — —

Do you know an amazing WISE that you want to nominate an for an interview? Do you have a woman that you look up to whose story you want to hear? Nominate them today by commenting on this article or by messaging our Facebook page here!

--

--

s t o r i e s o f W I S E

Our mission is to empower women in STEM fields by sharing their achievements, challenges, and life stories. Follow us on Instagram @storiesofwise !