What They Don’t Teach Designers

Insights from my time as a mentor

Kathryn Storm
4 min readJan 26, 2018

One of my favorite quotes comes from Art Director and Game Designer Momo Pixel, “Be bolder than you are.” Her quote reminds me to trust my ideas and take risks. Over the course of my career, this perspective directed me toward interesting opportunities.

If you’re not getting the experience you need or want, start now.

Continue to hone your craft. But also, remember to be bold. Being bold means being on the offense and making your own rules. Not waiting for someone to say it’s the right time to do something. Don’t wait for the right time to start.

My mentoring conversations are with women who are starting their design journeys. And these are the themes we return to again and again:

Start now

Not everyone starts out in their ideal place. It can be tough to have a job that is not where you imagined you’d be. Have faith, your day job is giving you valuable experience. But if you’re not getting the experience you need or want, start now. How? Collaborate with friends, attend bootcamps, design jams, meet-ups and look into self-learning platforms. Joining forces with like-minded designers leads to working on interesting projects.

Early in my career, I had a piece in my portfolio that I created with friends. Every potential employer would ask about it. Often ignoring other projects I had from “professional experience.” It was easy to speak to because it was a project I enjoyed. It was almost baffling to get such a strong reaction but it taught me something. The things you enjoy are the things you do well. So, start now. Those projects will shine.

Apply and interview for your dream job

Am I serious about applying for your dream job? What, now? Sort of. What is your dream job? Decide what it is and research what a job posting for the position requires of the applicant. The posting will give you a starting point at which you can begin to set goals. Or help you decide that you don’t want that job after all.

The website of Game UX consultant Celia Hodent.

Am I really suggesting you interview for the position? Sort of. Actually, I’m suggesting an informational interview. Informational interviews work like this. You contact someone you admire and tell them you’d like to learn more about what the industry is like and what they do. Specifically mention that you’d like to meet for an informational interview. The setting is more casual than a traditional interview. Offer to buy them coffee and meet at a time that is convenient for them. The goal isn’t to get a job but to learn and build a relationship.

Mentorship doesn’t require an RSVP

Recently, I was reading a short Twitter thread by illustrator Jen Bartel. She wrote about how skill and talent aren’t the only barriers to entry in creative fields. What is the answer to the disparities in education, mental health support and socio-economic status? Helping each other grow.

Mentorship happens when your professional peer gives you advice. Or when you shadow a senior colleague. Sometimes it is as formal as setting up a meeting with an executive. But mentorship doesn’t always need the accompanying formality that you think it does. And Jen’s Twitter thread is a great reminder that support is the most valuable gift we can give and receive.

My own story of becoming a mentor is exactly how Jen describes above. I would run into former colleagues or get an email from someone I volunteer with, “Hey, I’d love to introduce you to someone.” I’m not a superhero but I try to say yes as often as I am able. I know what it’s like to be the one asking. And I value the time and support of everyone who has ever said yes to me.

Always know where you stand

And continue to build and refine your portfolio. Design never sleeps, especially design in the world of technology. Keeping tabs on where you stand with your industry peers ensures honesty about your skill level (and can inspire!). From how you communicate in words to visuals and interaction. Evaluating your skillset helps you identify areas of improvement. And what kind of designer you want to be.

Consider that at some point you will level up. Being bold requires preparation to make bold moves. When great opportunity is out there, be ready.

Awwwards’ Best Portfolios Sites 2018.

I couldn’t have written this without the women who reached out to me. We were learning from each other. Don’t wait for the right time to start, start now. Connect with others. Start a project. Work toward improvement. Build a relationship. Help each other grow. Be bold.

Clap to show your support and share your own insights in the comments below. Want to talk about design, community, or equity? Find me on Twitter!

--

--