Host Family Summary

Alex Streff
2 min readMar 27, 2015

--

Being in a home stay is one of the hardest and most rewarding parts of the trip so far. Technically speaking, I knew a good deal of Japanese when I arrived. However, it wasn't until I began to use it the entire time that I’m at home that I really learned how to use it in a meaningful way. I’m now at the point where I can communicate at home in almost any situation. On the other hand, I guess it was just last week that I thought I was going to American Sniper with my host mom. Turns out she was going with her friend instead. ☹

While my host dad isn't around enough for us to form a proper relationship, my host mom more than makes up for this absence. Being her 22nd host student, she knows all about the process and has amazing suggestions for where to go and the best way to do things.

Perks of being in a host family are countless, but the food definitely ranks very highly (more on food later). Being able to sit down and have two meals a day is a great opportunity to try so many new things and practice Japanese hours more per week than those staying in the dorms. Additionally, I get brought along to all sorts of things that end up being great opportunities to learn about Japan or try something new. It was with my host mom and a couple down that street that I first experienced an onsen, or Japanese hot spring. Without her, I probably never would have tasted nabe, my new favorite Japanese food.

Staying with a host family is one of the best decisions you can make when studying abroad. I never regret this, even when I’m on the crammed train for hours each week. I've probably learned as much in this house as I have in class. That’s not a slam on the classes, it just speaks volumes about the benefits of the experience. I can’t wait to see how many other opportunities arise because of this decision.

--

--

Alex Streff

I’m a Notre Dame student who is currently in Nagoya, Japan for a semester of study abroad. Join me in my journey!