Seared with Scars: My Majesty

This mash-up between a poem and a story was written in the mental health ward about five years ago. It navigates my bipolar depression, mania, and psychosis through to the majesty I’ve experienced through strength born out of sheer adversity: “Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars.” (Khalil Gibran)

Shortly after my stay in the hospital when this poem/short story was written

They say to put others before yourself, to help those in need; that is the only way to redeem yourself from your past darkness and naked grim thrust. But the outness of control developed a character, albeit seared with scars. It’s where my strength flung through the dirt and gazed towards the sunlight.

But the strength was within a prison of prognosis, always at the whim of my dark spirits; they say high, low, fast, slow, where shall we go today? Oh, it’s OK. I feel 60% OK…

--

--

'STRENGTH FROM SCARS' - Robert Charles Kavanagh

| Curiosity & Compassion | Soul & Civilization | Searching for Ontological Grails | Comprehending Neuro-Maladies: Phenomenology, Soothing & Healing |