Accidental Portrait

String of Daze
1 min readSep 21, 2017

--

An accidental portrait captured by my two year old. She asked to take my photo, but pressed the button just before I looked at the lens.

She caught me staring at the limb-like lines of light that linger along the bathroom ceiling. I never noticed them before I became sober; I was always too busy with me head inside the toilet.

A flush of reality.

The shadows settle upon my face revealing my age.

Old bark protects my sensitive sapling center.

Scared.

Worried.

Growing strong, but hardly grown up.

Trekking forward, but frequently falling down.

Minutes become hours become days become years.

Actually years mean nothing. It’s what’s inside them.

These words echo through my mind as I study this suspended second in time; when I was caught looking up in in an accidental portrait.

Not gazing below or peeking behind.

Perhaps, a portrait of hope.

--

--

String of Daze

Plot twisting, bubble bursting, forest dwelling, water drinker