Embracing Mindfulness: A Journey of Self-Discovery

Stronger Everyday Mom
2 min readMar 5, 2024

--

Photo by Aleksandr Ledogorov on Unsplash

My understanding of mindfulness is becoming more aware of your thoughts/actions in the moment and fully embracing where you are or what you are doing. Being mindful gives me a sense of calmness.

Over the years I have gained the ability to be more mindful in my everyday life. Whether it be walking near a busy street or the interactions I have with the people who are close to me. I have found that pausing and understanding what’s going on around me is such an important skill. As well as noticing my thoughts when they arise.

Mindfulness guides the way I interact and respond to others. It also shapes the relationship I have with myself.

Meditation is one way of practicing the skill of mindfulness. I find that when I meditate my thoughts surface. It can be good thoughts or bad, but when I’m intentional and sit with these thoughts it normalizes what I’m feeling. Knowing it is okay to have these thoughts, is one way to be mindful.

I have always been observant of those around me, but it wasn’t until I was diagnosed with Bipolar 1, that I started to be more mindful of my symptoms.

Ever since being diagnosed, it has been a time to understand myself in a new way. Being mindful of my symptoms was one way I was able to heal. Knowing the symptoms of Bipolar 1 helped me to understand when I needed to speak up and tell a doctor what I was feeling. This then helped me to either get a medication adjustment or talk through what I was experiencing.

To me, mindfulness is something that needs to be used more often. Mindfulness shapes my life and every little minute of my day. Without it, I don’t know who I am.

Here are a few links on what mindfulness is and different mindfulness practices you can do in your life:

What is Mindfulness?

5 Simple Mindfulness Practices for Daily Life

Feel free to explore these resources and your understanding of mindfulness as well as incorporating different techniques into your everyday life.

--

--

Stronger Everyday Mom

Welcome to my blog where I post content related to having Bipolar 1 and being a SAHM!