Going home

Anahi
1 min readApr 17, 2024

--

Is it the place where I was born? The place where I wish to rest?

A space beside loved ones forever? A stepping stone, a nest?

Is it the smell of clean bedsheets, a table of carefully orchestrated mess?

A sunlit corner, whistling cooker on a burner? A city, a street, an address?

Is it the paint, the wood, the tiles and the bricks?

The soil under my feet, the stones and the sticks?

Is it a person, people, occupying shared space?

A kiss to the temple, a fierce embrace?

Is it a lover, a mother,

A teacher, a brother?

A childhood pet? Peas-in-a-pod, best friends?

Strangers who meet on unexpected paths, never to cross each other again?

Is it a feeling, the feeling of being understood?

Shared silence, a knowing smile, hands in salute?

Is it the colours of a flag, blowing in the breeze?

Is it the tears pried from the eyes by a melody?

Is it the rhythm of Nature — tall summits, open seas?

In the birds, the spiders, the plants and the trees?

What is home? Where is home? Why does it call to me?

At a cross-roads in life, a time of much change, maybe familiarity

Is a comfort I crave, I cling to, I so desperately seek

Wherever I’ve come from, wherever I’m going, whatever lies in store for me

I hope that home can and always will be

What keeps me rooted, what sets me free.

(Big hugs to Sahi, and Tejshree aunty, for the most valuable tinkering.)

--

--