Best commentaries on Genesis 1–3

Stephen Steele
Bible Commentaries
Published in
1 min readJul 27, 2018

Realised when someone asked me about Genesis commentaries that I’d forgotten to write up my thoughts after I preached on chapters 1–3 (11 sermons). 2 years on, it’s hard to remember, but reading through my notes I seem to have used Hamilton, Wenham, Ross & Kidner. I also used Currid, a standalone one by Waltke and Greidanus (Preaching Christ from the Old Testament). There’s a Jewish one by Sarna that I’ve looked at a few times. Also some of the old stalwarts like Calvin, Luther & Keil & Delitzsch.

Some non-commentaries that were helpful are Peter Leithart ‘A House for My Name’, and two by Desmond Alexander — ‘From Paradise to Promised Land’ and ‘From Eden to the New Jerusalem’.

I have Bonhoeffer’s Creation and fall: a theological exposition of Genesis 1–3, but don’t think I used it.

Just about to start back in to chapter 4 (-11?), so I’ll see if I have anything to add. I recently noticed that CFP have a book by Alastair Paine on Genesis 1–4 (The First Chapters of Everything) with an enthusiastic recommendation by Dale Ralph Davis. Gary Williams also has a good conference address (‘the cry of blood’) on Gen 4, which I’ll try and link to in any future post.

--

--