Playlist 1: Sexual

Leticia Barco Suarez
1 min readOct 25, 2021

--

The sexual playlist consists of songs that are purely sexual or describe romantic relationships in a sexual manner. As an asexual, this playlist consists of songs that talk about the one thing I have no desire for, sex.

These are songs that I have heard on the radio and on multiple social media platforms like Tiktok and Instagram. I have recently associated myself with the asexual label, and until now, I never took notice of the internalized sex culture music alone, can have. I created this playlist to show just how comfortable our generation has become to expressing sex and how mainstream it has become. With the constant emphasis of sex correlating to intimacy and love, many people have internalized the idea that sex is what everyone desires and because of that, romantic relationships cannot exist without it. And if you were to refuse sex to your partner(s) or were to not feel sexual attraction, it would mean that you are broken or that your love is not true because you are not willing to give them what society has defined as intimate and romantic. As an asexual, the emphasis around sex culture has made me afraid of being judged and has made me feel invisible and weird because I do not feel sexual attraction, the feeling which society views as natural and human.

--

--