Thoughts vs Thinking: Know the Difference to Lead “Happy Thinking”

Subashiniwrites
2 min readNov 15, 2023

--

(Source: Unsplash)

I had a chance to read this amazing book “Don’t Believe Everything You Think”.

Until I completed the book I never knew the difference between “Thoughts vs Thinking”. Now you may ask is there any purpose in knowing the differences?

Ahh! By understanding it, I had that good feeling about my mental health and wanted you all to experience the same.

The author of the book says, “Thinking is the root cause for all suffering” and the below example sums it up.

Thoughts: “I should drink more water.”

Thinking: “I thought about staying hydrated while sipping my third cup of coffee. It’s a liquid, right?”

Yes, our thinking leads to procrastination, negativity and overthinking. Most of us have unrealistic thinking which will never happen in real life but makes us feel anxious and even fail at times.

Does that mean we should stop thinking???

A big NO!!!

We can’t stop thinking. But we can design our thinking…

Let me explain from the above examples,

Negative thinking: “I thought about staying hydrated while sipping my third cup of coffee. It’s a liquid, right?”

Positive thinking: To stay hydrated, I replaced one of my daily coffee cups with a glass of water. It’s a small change, but now I’m not just thinking about it — I’m actively incorporating healthier choices into my routine.

It starts with us, design your thinking as it needs to uplift you. It’s okay to think negatively and overthink sometimes.

All you need is to overcome it.

By applying more realism and positivity to your thinking skills, you’ll be able to rid your life from toxic thinking that are undermining your happiness.

Happy “Thinking”!!!

--

--

Subashiniwrites

Hey there, thanks for stopping here! Glad to share my opinions related to mental health, relationships and personal growth.