What made me a Successful Freelancer on Upwork.com?

Ram S Shukla
3 min readDec 26, 2019

Do you want to know how to become a successful freelancer? I don’t have a 100% solution but I can share my story with what I did that may help you…

how to become successful freelancer on upwork
Credit Source: Pixels

Most of the time I heard and read online that many freelancers are suffering because upwork has suspended their account or no one is hiring them for any work. Are you also from that group and feeling sad?

In my freelancer career, I learned many things. I have a good position with UpWork.com and Freelancer.com.

  1. First I registered with www.upwork.com as a Freelancer and completed my profile.
  2. I got a message the next day that my profile has been rejected. But I tried to correct my information, skills, etc and applied again to review then I successfully my profile was approved by upwork.com
  3. Before bidding on the project. I added more detail in my profile, uploaded the project portfolio. I added content only about WordPress and Shopify and related work is done websites for demo.
  4. Once I saw my profile was complete. I started searching for projects to bid which was suitable for my skills. I was already bidding on Freelancer.com so I knew how bidding works. So I searched very carefully and did a lot of research before bidding like as follows:
  • I did not bid on any high value and big projects. I searched projects only which price was between 5 USD to 50 USD.
  • I did not go for hourly projects, I bid on only a fixed price job.
  • I put my price below the Average bid price.
  • I never bid with a copy-paste proposal. First I studied in detail, looked for employer name for salutation, And talked only about their project instead of explaining about myself or my skills. This is how I got the first project after bidding only on 10 projects and like that I earned 5 projects. And right away I was honored as a Rising Talented Freelancer

5. After completing 16 weeks and earning 1000 USD I got Top Rated Freelancer Badge.

6. Like this I got success. And I have not got achievement in a day or night but I did a lot of research.

7. I never bid on project which is not doable by me or my team.

8. The key things to keep in mind that always reply very quickly. Never share any contact detail, use upwork telephonic tools and always chat there itself.

9. I avoid adding many skills because upwork give priority to the person who is master in a specific technology. Adding a lot of skills will create problem for you.

10. I never bid on a project which consumes 6 connects. Always I bid on 2 or 4 connects projects

If you need any help related to Upwork or Freelancer.com, how to bid, how to get approved profile etc. Do feel free to contact me here or you can mail me at successguru4you@gmail.com

--

--

Ram S Shukla

Passionate about Tech, Lifestyle, Entrenureship Blogging, Case Studies, and Success Stories. If you clap I will clap back. www.digitalservicesguru.com