My take on the Chinese Drama: A little thing called first love

Suchanda Sil
3 min readApr 12, 2024

--

Poster of the Chinese drama named “A little thing called first love”
Source: IMDB

This was my first C Drama and I am glad this was the first one. I just stumbled upon it while I was looking for my next watch and being a sucker at childhood sweetheart love stories I just took my chance and I was glad that I took it.

I have already watched it twice and I am planning to watch it again and trust me, this cycle might go on. This series actually made me fall for Chinese dramas 🥰

The story is cliche where Miao Miao shifts to a new town and gets into a new school and falls for one of the popular guys in the school and of course! the guy has to be a basketball player. Even though the plot is a cliche and you get to guess that eventually the guy falls for the girl but the best part for me was the lead actress transformation from a timid little school girl to a confident young women who is still deeply smitten by her crush but her dreams are also important to her.

This transition was something that I really didn’t expect and I was officially sold.

And if I may, this drama reminded me all the silly little things I had done when I had a crush.

Coming to romance part that I am dying to talk about. There were so many cute romantic moments in the drama that I lost the count of my “aawwhhh”s.

First you get to feel Miao Miao’s part of feelings, where she cherishes every moment with Lian You Nian, goes into a trans every time she sees him and (THE CUTEST PART) the drawer filled with memento’s of her moments with You Nian.

Then gradually you get to sense that You Nian is also falling for her. When I realized that I was like “ I KNEW IT!”. Making something from scratch for your loved one with moments and memories is something that I always do but looking at the lead character doing exactly the same made my heart go all warm and emotional.

Coming to the other love lines in the story they were pretty much everything from complicated to funny to infatuation to unrequited. But I guarantee to you all that you’ll love them too because every one of them shows uncontrolled emotions and that’s exactly how real life is, isn’t it?

This drama also focuses on how our families actually shape our decisions and affect our life path, which if you ask me is a crucial thing to note.

All in all, this show will surely remind you of your college days and friendships, first love or crush, thinking about a career path and most of all being absolutely smitten by someone’s charms. You are in for a heart warming emotional experience with this one! Enjoy! and let me know how you liked it and what’s your take on it :)

--

--

Suchanda Sil

A writer, bed-time reader, dedicated K & C-Drama watcher. I write poems, reviews & anything that’s on my mind! If you like it do follow, like and leave comments