Breaking the Silence: My Story of Living with Anxiety

Sudeshna Chatterjee
5 min readApr 17, 2023

April 17, 2023

Today let go of your bad habits.

Your future self will thank you!

A warm and lovely morning to all the beautiful faces reading. I wish your days to be more enlightened and brightened by all the love you deserve in abundance. Okay, so let me ask a question.

Did you make yourself past your bedtime?

Did I hear no?

One secret, let me whisper to your ears that you are beautiful and loved. Stop being so hard on yourself. You don’t need to have anything figured out, I promise. This is your time to be young, experiment with everything & get to know yourself. You are deserving of love and kindness your uniqueness is what makes you beautiful and special.

Let me know that you are in a safe place. And I hope being here brings you a sense of peace and calm. Has it ever happened that you’ve so much to say already in your mind but then you choose to be silent? knowing deep within that maybe even words couldn’t really express your pain.

Anxiety has been a constant companion of mine for as long as I can remember. It started in childhood, with a constant sense of worry and unease that I couldn’t shake. As I got older, the anxiety grew more intense and began to impact every aspect of my life. I was constantly on edge, second-guessing myself, and worrying about the worst-case scenario. For years, I suffered in silence, afraid to speak up about what I was going through.

For a long time, I kept my anxiety hidden from those around me. I thought that if I ignored it, it would go away, or worse, that people would judge me or think less of me if they knew. I felt like I was alone in my struggle and that no one else could possibly understand what I was going through. But the truth is, I was never alone. Millions of people deal with anxiety every day, and it’s time to break the silence and speak out about it.

But now, I want to break the silence and share my story in the hopes of helping others who may be struggling with anxiety.

As someone who has struggled with anxiety for years, I know how difficult it can be to say NO. Especially when you’re a soft-hearted person who wants to please everyone. You don’t want to disappoint or upset anyone, so you say yes to everything, even when it overwhelms you.

For a long time, I thought saying yes was just part of who I was. I didn’t want to let anyone down, so I took on more and more responsibilities. But the truth is, saying yes all the time was taking a toll on my mental health. I was anxious, stressed, and exhausted all the time.

It wasn’t until I reached a breaking point that I realized I needed to change. I needed to learn how to say NO and SET BOUNDARIES, even if it meant disappointing someone else.

At first, it was incredibly hard. I felt guilty and ashamed every time I said NO. I worried that people would think I am lazy or selfish. But over time, I started to realize that saying NO was actually an act of self-care. It allowed me to prioritize my own well-being and manage my anxiety.

Learning to say NO wasn’t easy, but it was necessary. It helped me become more assertive and confident in myself. I no longer felt like a doormat, constantly saying yes to everyone else’s needs and wants. Instead, I felt empowered to take control of my life and my mental health.

If you’re someone who struggles to say NO, know that YOU’RE NOT ALONE. It’s okay to prioritize your own needs and set boundaries. Saying no doesn’t make you a bad person or mean that you don’t care about others. It simply means that you’re taking care of yourself, which is important.

Breaking the silence about your struggles with saying no can be scary, but it’s also liberating. When you share your story, you let others know that they’re not alone. You inspire them to prioritize their own well-being and seek help if needed.

So if you’re living with anxiety as someone who can’t say NO, know that you have the power to change. You can learn how to set boundaries and prioritize your own needs. And when you do, you’ll be amazed at how much better you feel. You deserve to live a life that feels balanced and manageable. And you can start by breaking the silence and sharing your story.

If you are experiencing anxiety, stress, or anger, practice this!

Inhale for 6 counts

Hold for 6 counts

Exhale for 6 counts.

It is advised to practice this breathing exercise three times a day, depending on your current mental state, and to do so at the same time each day. Beginners may start with 10-minute sessions and gradually increase the duration.

As you practice this, sit with an awareness of your body, mind, and thoughts. The more aware you become, the better you can learn to respond to moments of anxiety, rather than react impulsively.

Remember that some things are beyond your control, It’s important to have the intention to change and overcome these negative emotions. Cultivate an attitude of acceptance and make an effort to avoid getting entangled with whatever challenges life may throw your way.

When you feel a little too anxious. Focusing on this mantra can help to quiet the mind and bring a sense of relaxation and ease that can be helpful for relaxation including:

“calm and peace within.”

“let go and let be,”

“breathe deeply and release,” and

“I am safe and secure in this moment.”

Enjoy life. Go have fun and don’t think about it too much. Not everything is that serious. Relax a little bit, you’ll be on your way anyway.

Sending you good vibes and positive thoughts to start your day off on a happy note.

…………………… ॐ मणि पद्मे हम ……………………

--

--