You may lose access to some of your third-party apps (google)

LeoX
2 min readMay 5, 2022

--

Few days ago I received an email from google with the subject; You may lose access to some of your third-party apps. In addition it was written; On May 30, you may lose access to apps that are using less secure sign-in technology.

For those who does not know what less secure sign-in means. It is an option in gmail that you can use your username and password to login in 3rd part application and use it for sending emails. For example, I am using it in many python scripts to receive notifications on email.

Yes I agree, it is not secure way to expose directly username and password in scripts and it is can make your account more vulnerable. Anyway, I never use my main Gmail account for this purpose. I am always using account opened only for this type of activities.

However, on May 30 many of my python scripts will stop working, so I will need to make a workaround. Also an apps or devices which uses Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) will stop working. This is related to an older devices, like a printers or scanners. Some people are asking what will be with their Gmail account synced in Outlook. In this case there is no problem, due to Outlook is trusted and certified application, and even now you do not need to have enabled less secure sign-in technology to use it.

So, I still need my scripts to work and send me an emails with notifications by using Gmail. I will make work around on the following way. I will start using SendGrid, where I will integrate my Gmail account and start using their email API in my scripts. SendGrid is free if you are sending less than 100 emails/day, which is in my case quite enough. I was using SendGrid in the past for some applications and I can say it works perfectly.

Google made me some headaches with this change, but hey, I completely understand their concern, and there is nothing left to us as adapt on it and go forward by using it on another way.

--

--

LeoX

I am enthusiastic “hacker”, “programmer”, and I am in love into computer technology. This are my hobbies, and I was hooked in before hacking was even illegal.