From Work For Home to Work From Home Mom

Sujatha Prakash
2 min readOct 3, 2021

--

Upon completion of my Engineering in Computer Science in 2004, I was on a constant lookout for job opportunities for a year, as my college was not supporting on-campus recruitment. Luckily, I was able to secure a job opportunity in the same place where I did my final year internship.

Since 2005, there was no looking back! Entry into the corporate world, learning business domain, working on real-time projects, good exposure to clients, taking leadership roles and what not! My motivation to work more was never let down under any circumstance. But good things do always comes to end!

After my daughter’s birth had to relocate from India to The United States(2014). It was as if, like starting from Day 1. New culture, interview process, but despite those challenges got to step into one of the top American companies. Unfortunately, that was short-lived as my spouse has to relocate on an emergency basis!

Then, back in India(2015), I assumed the role of Work For Home mom, just devoting myself to the needs of my then 2.5-year-old naughty little girl. Days passed, found ways to kill my time by training for marathons, endurance cycling (600Kms Brevet), following my passion for learning classical dancing, starting a small-time Baking business, learning a classical instrument, making sure I don't go insane, staying at home!

As you all know, Covid 19 played a significant role in everyone’s lives in the year 2020! And I’m no exception! Being an outdoorsy person, couldn't come up with the terms on indefinite curfew. That’s when I realized, doing what I had been doing so far is not my cup of tea, after all! Took a vow to upskill me with the latest trends in Business Analysis and Technology and land a job by 2020. After countless rejections, ghosting and shaming of being on a work break, on Dec 31, 2020, received an offer letter from my current company!

Yes! 2020 was special to me, for a different reason and I’m thankful for all my near and dear ones for supporting this journey. Now, it’s been a year since I was placed as a Product Owner. Working with stakeholders, hustling between work, home and my grown-up daughter, always keeps me on my toes and I love it!

Perhaps, this had been the future I was planning on 2020 and glad to have moved towards my calling into Product Management!

--

--

Sujatha Prakash

Hi. I'm Sujatha, a Product Owner and a Fitness Freak from Chennai, India. I love to Dance, Paint, Bake, Cook, Learn new things and Blog!