Online Dating. Yay or Nay?

Sukanya Telang
2 min readMar 8, 2017

--

I am a sucker for romantic dates, long walks by the beach, random conversations, midnight movies and ice cream evenings. Feelings that typically no online dating site ever succeeds in giving. Are these stories of people finding their significant others really true? Is that possible? How would the experience really be? Do guys have remotely any interest in anything but sex when they sign up for an online dating site? I literally had all these questions running in my head. I still do. I have never used one, but my friends have. They either got bored of the “Can we hook up tonight” or the long wait and I don’t blame them.

Finding love in the real world isn’t a cake walk either, so one can only imagine how much patience it would take to find Mr. Right online.

While reading up about online dating, I came across something interesting. Something a person like me would definitely try out; a new dating platform by Hinge, called Audrey that is going to roll out soon.

Audrey is a new matchmaking app and personal assistant that can plan and schedule activities for users.

While Hinge primarily was a “swiping” platform, it addresses the issue that a swipe doesn’t help much. Audrey is based on the idea of quitting spending too much time on the app and going on real dates.

This anti-Tinder sort of an app wants to foster relationships and not hook ups. “The app promises to reach out, introduce you to a potential date and schedule a date if the feeling is mutual. Moreover, should a match prove to be a miss, the app self-corrects based on data and feedback to increase the probability of surfacing the perfect match the next time around.”

The algorithm of the app is interstingly based on the features you “like” of an individual and it resets it to show you a potential match. While I find this really interesting, I am eagerly waiting to see what unfolds next in the “Dating Apoclypse”, that is, by the way, the name of their campaign ad. Take a look and let me know what you think of it!

--

--