5 Ways Using an Air Conditioner during Winter Vastly Improved my Well-being

Scott ChristensonšŸŒ“
2 min readDec 15, 2023

An Article by Howard Bubski

Recently, so many old ideas and assumptions have been turned upside down. Eggs are now good for us. 5 minutes of HIIT exercise is more beneficial than 2 hours of running. A Paleo diet might be the key to longevity. New data from Johns Hopkins University shows promising results for turning our approach to indoor climate control in a radical new direction.

Over the last 2 months, Iā€™ve tested their ground shattering new finding, and found amazing benefits.

1. Improved Mindfulness

With indoor temperatures in my home now hovering around 40F, I spend more time under the covers. Sleeping 10 hours a day has reduced the time I spent surfing the web and binge watching Netflix. As it is too cold to go to the kitchen in the early morning before work, I drink less coffee. Cutting back on caffeine has helped improve my sleep quality, and improved my overall mindfulness.

2. Health Benefits

As I began visiting the doctor more often with colds and flu, my Vitamin D deficiency was detected at an early stage. Dr Dosanjh was able to suggest I begin supplementation before it causes any health problem.

3. Renewed Interest in Career Growth

I realized I had been coasting along in my position as an insurance claims adjustment officer for a national firm based in Madison Wisconsin for the last five years. The increase in monthly utility bills, due to my central heating and cooling systems counteracting each other, has renewed my motivation to maximize career growth and earning potential. I have begun studying for the Wisconsin Actuarial Exam FAM using the additional hours my new lifestyle has afforded me.

4. Improved Relationship with Coworkers

My team leader Jessica had previously been frosty in her dealings toward me in the office. Since embarking on my lifestyle change, she has taken a newfound interest in my well-being and frequently asks how I am doing. One day, as I was trembling with excitement at my newfound potential, she discussed with me the effects of inflation, and even asked if I need to apply for a salary increase.

5. Genuine Relationships

Finding individuals who are open to personal growth and a meaningful relationship is crucial in life. My partner, Gwen, was resistant to change and fixated on our lifestyle of the past. She would prefer to soak in the warm bathtub of daily routine than embrace the invigorating, brisk wind of change. I am now in search of a new partner willing to embrace the lifestyle of the future.

**

Note: Iā€™m posting this on behalf of Howard Bubski, who claims that some characters and events portrayed are fictitious, even though it mostly rings true to me. All photos from Unsplash and Wikimedia Commons.

--

--

Scott ChristensonšŸŒ“

Satire, Short Fiction, and Info Journalism. 'Medium's Fountain of Unsolicited Advice' - NYT. Milwaukee native, now a digital nomad living in Asia.