How to become a Frontend developer, without a CS degree?

Kashif sulehria
4 min readMar 18, 2023

--

About me:

Photo by Campaign Creators on Unsplash

Hello, My name is Kashif sulehria, I am 20 years old, self-taught frontend developer based in Lahore. I have 2 years of experience as Frontend developer , I am specialized in React, Vue, and UiUx. currently working in a well-known company and doing freelancing in my free time (side hustle).

LinkedIn:

https://pk.linkedin.com/in/kashif-sulehria-9436b3257?trk=public_post_main-feed-card-text

My Journey:

As I was growing up in the society of People, who only have interest in government jobs. As per their thoughts, you can not be successfull without having a government Job, things we inherited from British raj. anyway, I tried a lot of jobs after my intermediate, Went from Police to Army but I did not get selected. It is not easy for youngsters to hide their failures, people in society realize them you can not do anything in your life, If you will not get Government Job. The same thing happened to me, but I managed to buy my first laptop after Intermediate and I started learning photoshop, and illustrator. After learning for 2 months I got myself in the same position where I was before. I had no idea what I am doing. Then one day I realize I should do something different. I went to my computer teacher, who was a flutter developer, and he told me to go and learn Javascript. I was curious What Javascript is? I went home opened youtube and searched Javascript I got a video of JS, I opened a video the guy was saying go first learn what HTML CSS is. Without HTML CSS you can not be comfortable with JS. I started an HTML CSS course in Urdu. It was a very good series. It had all HTML CSS things. As I tried HTML CSS I was really shocked, because this time what I was writing I could see visuals. It was really easy for me. I completed HTML CSS in 2–3 months and started JS. As I completed my HTML CSS, I created a gig on Fiverr, in my first month I got an order from Fiverr, and I completed the project, Buyer was so happy with my results that he left me a 10$ tip. That thing motivated me a lot. This time I knew How powerfull web development and How can web development can change the way I am living. I started taking interest in it.

Udemy:

Photo by Wes Hicks on Unsplash

As I got some bucks from Fiverr, I started investing in my education. I bought a course from udemy. Most of you may know her, Her name is Angela Yu and she was a doctor turned into IT the field. She is running one of the world biggest Coding Bootcamp in London app brewery. She is also on udemy Her full-stack web development course is Bestselling course. That course covers everything related to web development from html to js, and nodejs to react js. I completed the whole course and made almost 30+ projects. Made so many 20+ professional UIs. I completed that course in 3 months. Then I realize know I have to choose one field Frontend or Backend. During that period I got an Internship as Frontend Developer, My duties were to build UIs for clients. In my first month, I worked with 2 teams on two projects. I got permanent in just one month. As I told you I invest in my education every time I get money. As I got a salary from the salary I bought another udemy course called Javascript full course. This course also was very useful for me I learned how js works behind the door. It was easy for me then to learn Vue js and React js. After Some vue and react I worked full time on Fiverr and Earned $3k from Fiverr. My business was growing then Fiverr de-ranked my gigs and I had no idea why? I started applying for jobs within 1 month I got a Job as React JS developer, then I worked remotely for a firm as vue js developer at the same time. Now I am a frontend developer, who works on React, Vue, HTML/Tailwind and UiUX. I am almost 21 and My income is almost near to 2 Lakh PKR’s per month , In 6 months I will consider myself Senior Frontend Engneer.

Things You need to know:

Photo by AltumCode on Unsplash

1: Invest in your education ( Best site to start with is Udemy or Frontend Montors)

2: Take your time, forget about what is going on outside, Lock yourself.

3: Instead of using FB or Instagram, use LinkedIn.

4: Never think about money when you just starting.

5: Apply for opportunities, on LinkedIn and indeed, even if you don’t have experience.

6: Never shy to take opportunities. You will not regret.

7: Make connections on LinkedIn and In Person.

8: Start With HTML and CSS, then go for JS after JS go for React or Vue

Thanks for reading and sorry for English mistakes Follow me for more!!!

--

--