Flutter Widgets (Boxes Part-1) The Whole Picture.

Murtaza Sulaihi
Flutter Community

--

We are going to talk about boxes today. Real use case of a box, a box is used for storage, for safekeeping, to organize, to move items from one place to another, children use boxes to show their creativity and people use a stack of boxes to climb also.

In the world of programming, a box is used as an analogy to explain variables. While I was learning JAVA this is how it was explained to me. A box itself is a variable data type. Then you need to name the box, which is the name of the variable. And when we put something inside the box which is the value of the variable.

There are 10 different types of Box Widgets in Flutter.

  1. Constrained Box
  2. Decorated Box + Transition
  3. Fitted Box
  4. Fractionally Sized Box
  5. Limited Box
  6. Overflow Box
  7. Place Holders
  8. Rotated Box
  9. Sized Box
  10. Sized Overflow Box

I am not going to write 10 different articles on each widget, instead, I am going to combine it and write in two parts. So for the first part of this article, I am going to discuss Constrained Box, Fractionally Sized Box, Overflow Box, Sized Box, Sized Overflow Box.

--

--

Murtaza Sulaihi
Flutter Community

By profession, I am a school professor and I also develop Android applications and also Flutter applications.