Flutter Widgets (Row, Column, Flex) The Whole Picture.

Murtaza Sulaihi
Flutter Community
6 min readSep 21, 2020

--

I read a few articles and saw tutorial videos as well on Row and Column widgets, I was actually surprised that none of them has mentioned about Flex along with Row and Column widgets. I might have missed while googling it, but hey who goes beyond the first page on the google search.

So I would like to clear out the air, I am not copying, pasting words and sentences from other articles, I do read it though, just to know what has been already talked about and how can I be different, whatever I write here is all my work and whatever code that you see is what I experiment with and then write it here.

so let’s get going…

Coming back to my previous point, why haven’t people written about Flex along with Row and Column, it is basically the same thing, the code, the properties, the behaviour is all the same. The major difference between all the three are, Row has fixed horizontal direction while placing its widgets, Column has fixed vertical direction while placing its widgets, Flex is flexible, you can either place your widgets horizontally or vertically, it is a combination of both Row and Column. The control is in your hands if you are not sure how you would like your widgets to be placed, vertically or horizontally use Flex widget, just change its single property known as direction and rest stays the…

--

--

Murtaza Sulaihi
Flutter Community

By profession, I am a school professor and I also develop Android applications and also Flutter applications.