CodeIonic theme for ghost

Sumit Jaju
3 min readNov 26, 2015

--

MARCH 17, 2015

I am always found of great design and one of my passion was to create themes. So I thought lets build one and find the platform which can give control over theme pages where I can customize it as per my wish. I really like minimal, simple and beautiful design. Thanks to all the great designers in the world who thought about it.

After looking at different options like wordpress, ghost, svbtle and many different blogs I found ghost the best place because I wanted simple, latest in technology which would help me learning and take full control over theme.

I started working on ghost theme which I am more interested in. After few days of working, it really came out well. I am proud to present you this Theme CodeIonic which I really worked hard to create it.

Here’s how it looks on Mobile and Desktop

Sample post to get you confidence in me.

CodeIonic sports following features :

  • Build for ghost blogging platform. You can visit and get started here ghost.org.
  • Mobile first approach.
  • Fully responsive design.
  • HTML5 and CSS3 compatible.
  • Media queries.
  • Menu navigation
  • Icons from IonicFramework team.
  • It uses two different fonts. Josefin Sans for logo and Lato for headers and post content.
  • Rss and subscription feeds (Of course you need to configure).
  • Designed for multiuser support
  • Requires ghost V_0.5.7
  • Handles unique design for each post.

When you want to change the navigation name or links you just have to worry about default.hbs. Look closely you should see comments for desktop and mobile menus rendering.

You can take advantage of about us page. Its already created in the theme you just have to login to ghost admin and create a new post and give any name you like. In your lower right corner click on the setting wheel btn. It will open up as per below box.

Fill out the URL with aboutus make sure you give this name as ‘aboutus’ only and check the box beside Turn this post into a static page and publish this post. Thats it ! you can now go ahead and click on about usnavigation menu.

Credits

You can download theme from GitHub.

Also it is showcased on ghost marketpalce.

Follow Me @jsumeet.

--

--