Dealing With Survivor Remorse

My truth about survivor remorse

Shane Berry
1 min readApr 4, 2024

Survivor’s remorse is a complex and deeply emotional phenomenon that I had experienced.

I guess it occurs when someone has survived a traumatic event or a tragedy while others around them did not.

Now if you think being in a unhappy marriage is not tragic, then my friend you're an idiot.

The feeling of guilt and remorse that arises from this can be overwhelming and can have long-lasting effects on a person’s mental and emotional well-being.

Especially Mines

I question why God spared me while others suffered, leading to a sense of unfairness and a constant internal struggle to find meaning and purpose in their survival.

This guilt had manifest itself in various ways, such as

anxiety

depression

even self-destructive behaviors.

Additionally, survivors may find it difficult to openly express their emotions, fearing judgment or misunderstanding from others who have not experienced a similar trauma.

As for me the weight of survivor’s remorse can be burdensome, but it is essential to recognize and address these feelings in order to heal and move forward in a healthy and meaningful way.

--

--