How I Stay Focused On Coding By Doing Only This

Suman Sourabh
3 min readAug 22, 2023

I am NOT talking about uninstalling apps, setting up DND mode, installing useful Chrome extensions, or even throwing our phone away into some corner.

No, what I am talking about is a bit different.

Photo by Sam Moghadam Khamseh on Unsplash

It’s 2023 and there are a lot of distractions around us. I mean, a lot!

But in order to code, we developers need to have full concentration so that we can write better code (plus introduce some bugs) and develop cool features.

Therefore, on my day-to-day coding, I do only one thing to stay away from distractions.

So, what do I do?

I listen to Lo-fi music

Yes, that’s correct.

Let me explain.

Music speaks a different kind of language all over the world. Everyone can understand it and there are different types of music a person can choose from.

I am a big fan of music and in fact, one of my hobbies is to listen to music (well, this is not uncommon).

While doing exercise, I listen to hip hop.

While driving, I fire up my “Car Playlist”.

While doing dishes, I play random songs on Spotify.

But while coding, I listen to lo-fi music.

But wait, what the hell is Lo-fi music?

According to Uppbeat, Lofi music is largely characterized by downtempo drum loops and heavy sampling, giving the music a distinctive chilled out retro vibe that resonates with creators looking to give their videos a laid back feel. You may well hear the nostalgic haziness of shoegaze, dream pop or chillwave, alongside vintage jazz chords and soul samples too.

Basically, Lo-fi music is a calm audio with no vocals and on YouTube, those videos have amazing art works as the thumbnail images.

The art work + the music itself create a peaceful environment for the listener.

As an example, you can listen to this: Tenno — Mind Temple ⛩️ [lofi hip hop/relaxing beats]

Lo-fi music played a good part in me becoming a Full Stack Developer in about 7 months.

Why Lo-fi music?

Lo-fi music is really calm which doesn’t have any vocals, so there’s just a soft music. This is really helpful while coding, as I want full concentration on the code that I write.

I don’t want the vocals to distract my focus as what usually happens is when someone sings in the song, we tend to lip sync it even if we don’t know the lyrics.

Not only this, I don’t get any background noise if I plug in my earphones.

A mega popular YouTube channel on Lo-fi music is the Lofi Girl, sitting with more than 13 million subscribers (including me!). I am sure, some of you would have heard of it!

Lofi Girl has a live stream too where 35,000 people listen together on an average!

YouTube channels for Lo-fi Music

Here are some of the YouTube channels where you can listen to Lo-fi music. Happy coding!

Do you also listen to Lo-fi music? If not, try it now!

--

--

Suman Sourabh

Tech Blogger on sumansourabh.in | Author, "Troubled" | Frontend Developer | Freelance Technical Writer | Writes about coding, books and fiction