These Resources helped me Become a Full Stack Developer

Suman Sourabh
3 min readSep 19, 2023

A month ago, I told everyone about how I became a Full Stack Software Developer in about 7 months. That post reached out to so many people, so here’s more!

Photo by Wes Hicks on Unsplash

Right now, I believe in project based learning (try building a project and learn things along the way because of it).

But before building a project, it is good to have a little bit of understanding about the concepts.

There are a lot of YouTube channels that can teach you web development. Honestly, stop experimenting every channel and just pick one!

Let’s not beat around the bush now.

Here are some free and paid resources that helped me land the internship and later the full time position.

The Complete 2023 Web Development Bootcamp (Paid)

For the full stack web development, I bought the “The Complete 2023 Web Development Bootcamp” course by Angela Yu (in my time, it was the year 2022).

You can get it for about INR 449 on Udemy.

I found this course to be well taught. Most of the web dev topics were included, along with some terminal/command line commands and tips on general things like how to study and how to keep moving forward with the topics.

Free Resources

Now, my tech stack (the technologies that I work with excluding HTML, CSS and JavaScript) include:

  • React
  • Next.js
  • Node.js
  • Express
  • React Native

Therefore, some YouTube channels that I recommend to everyone are:

For Frontend Web Development

Web Dev Simplified

(Videos about HTML, CSS, JavaScript, React, etc.)

Pretty great YouTube channel to get started in web development. Honestly, one of the first channels that introduced me to the world of web dev.

CodeWithHarry (in Hindi)

Covers HTML, CSS, JavaScript, React, Node.js, etc.)

I have watched his Web Dev playlist and it is good if someone wants to study in Hindi language.

Akshay Saini (JavaScript)

The ultimate destination for the understanding of JavaScript concepts and interview prepartion. I am still watching the Namaste JavaScript playlist.

Kevin Powell

CSS! CSS! CSS!

He teaches CSS so well keeping concepts like layout and spacing in mind. Includes a lot of tips, tricks and best practices too.

Fireship

Amazing channel for experienced developers + beginners. Tells a lot about coding in just a short amount of time (in literally 2 minutes!).

Includes very high quality 100 second videos (for just introducing a new technology/tool/framework).

Traversy Media

A renowned channel in the software development space on YouTube, it has so many good crash courses (videos of about 1–2 hours).

They will surely get you started with the tools and frameworks that you want to learn. I have watched his MERN stack video where he created a REST API with basic CRUD operations using the best practices.

For Backend Web Development

This 6 hour course includes Node.js, Express, APIs and a CRUD project including authentication (with React). I took help of this video to make the backend of my sample project.

A Tip

Do NOT linger on a YouTube video for much longer. Pick up a project idea and just start building it! If it is good, just write it on your resume!

Additionally, if you run into various problems into your day to day coding and not able to find a solution for it, you can check out my “Coding Solutions” GitHub repository.

Here I have listed down helpful links and solutions to various coding problems that I come across during day to day coding. I keep on updating this time to time.

I will update this post as I keep trying to recall more resources. Please, have a bit of patience!

You can contact me on LinkedIn and Twitter.

--

--

Suman Sourabh

Tech Blogger on sumansourabh.in | Author, "Troubled" | Frontend Developer | Freelance Technical Writer | Writes about coding, books and fiction