Fall 22 Recap (Part 2)

Sunaina Mahindrakar
3 min readJan 10, 2023

--

I’m sharing my Fall 22 experiences and if you have jumped to this blog without reading the first part here’s a link to it:

https://medium.com/@sunainamahindrakar/fall-22-recap-30978c3895f7

Nov 2022

Hasan Minhaj show at Matthews Arena, Boston

The first week of November started with me attending my first stand-up comedy in the US. It was a Hasan Minhaj show arranged by Northeastern Students. I was fortunate to get tickets to this because I work as a Senator at the Graduate Student Government (GSG) of Northeastern University. As a Senator, I get voting powers to govern the decisions surrounding graduate students in the University. I also get to work on exciting projects and events. Tickets to this show were an appreciation token for being actively involved in this association and hosting many successful events.

And then came the most exciting event of the semester Protothon. A Product Prototyping Hackathon hosted by the Product Management club at Northeastern University. I participated in this event and learned a lot about Product Management and also could reflect upon my existing PM skills. I learned how to quickly ideate and prototype new product ideas. After a lot of brainstorming and multiple ideas, I and my team decided on a feature to integrate short videos on Google Maps. The user surveys were conducted by creating a Google form and forwarding it to our network. It helped us gather feedback on the feature idea.

checkout out the presentation here!

Overall, participating in this event was a great way to learn new skills, develop my problem-solving abilities, think on my feet, and work in a collaborative environment.

The last week of November was when I turned 24 and this was a good time to reflect upon my life and be grateful for all the experiences and also the time I plan for things out for my future.

Dec 2022

The first half of December was all about studying for the finals. After working for over 2 years in corporate, I realized getting back to studies was tough for me. I would often get distracted and lose focus. But eventually, I was able to get back on track and I finished my first semester successfully!

The second half was the beginning of my 20 days long winter holidays and I decided to spend it in California. I made the decision that during these 20 days, all of my attention would concentrate on resting and unwinding, and I followed through on that plan. I focused on having fun on vacation rather than planning the next steps for my work or life goals. I went on hikes and relaxed on beaches. I tried many different cuisines like Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, and Mediterranean, and also drank lots of Boba Milk Tea. I visited almost all the popular tech companies' headquarters. I went on ATV riding and roller coaster rides. Overall, my vacation was fun and adventurous.

Google Headquarters, Mountain View
Golden Gate, San Francisco

Now that my holidays are over and my next semester has already begun, all I can think of is what an amazing semester I’ve had and I cannot be more excited to see what’s in store for me this semester.

--

--