A basic guide to Facebook privacy

Facebook is a social network with over a billion users all over the world sharing videos, pictures and statuses. Although Facebook is an incredibly innovative medium for connecting with friends and family, it can breach your privacy and expose your content to anyone. Since most people probably don’t want strangers seeing what they post, it’s important to be aware of all the privacy settings Facebook has to offer. Below are a few basic guidelines to setting your Facebook privacy settings so you can manage who is viewing your profile.

1. Your posts

Beginning with posts, Facebook lets you choose who can and can’t see them. Whether you’re concerned about your parents seeing your night out pictures or your co-workers seeing your latest selfie, there’s a privacy option for you. The three main options are public, friends, or only you. The second option gives you further options to customize who can see your post; you can select friends of friends or simply exclude certain people from viewing your content. The only you options is pretty self-explanatory and useful if you just want to upload things for personal memories or even use Facebook as a diary.

Source: Techlicious

The privacy setting you select is then designated as your default setting, which can seem annoying if you want to change up the viewership of each individual post. But, alas, Facebook has a solution! You can change the sharing setting for every individual post you make by clicking the sharing button beside the post button.

Source: Techlicious

If you’re trying to repress your hide cringeworthy old Facebook posts, but don’t want to scroll down your profile searching through years of shared content, rest assured there is a solution! Under the privacy tab in your settings, you can click the ‘Limit Past Posts’ and choose to make old posts viewable only to you or specific friends. This is extremely useful as employers are increasingly scrutinizing social networks for inappropriate content before hiring someone.

2. Your Timeline

Facebook gives users the options of uploading pictures or even writing posts and tagging other users, which allows the other person’s content to be present on your timeline. Facebook doesn’t have a button to stop people from tagging you in things, but it does let you control if the content shows up on your timeline. You can choose to only let your friends add things to your timeline or view the content on your timeline. Moreover, you can remove tags of yourself from photos through the ‘Activity log’ option and selecting the photos you want to un-tag.

Source: Techlicious
Source: TIME

3. Friend Requests

Facebook lets you control who can send you friend requests and messages by going to the privacy settings and adjusting the ‘Who can contact me’ tab. You can create a filter for your inbox and change the default setting of anyone sending you friend requests to only friends of friends. Facebook also lets users block messages from certain people if you’re receiving unkind messages. If that doesn’t work, then you can simply block someone by going on their profile. This prevents the person from sending you any friend requests or posting on your timeline.

Source: DigitalTrends

There are also further detailed privacy instructions provided by Facebook for those looking for a more detailed solution.

Source: Giphy
Like what you read? Give Sunbul Butt a round of applause.

From a quick cheer to a standing ovation, clap to show how much you enjoyed this story.