Photo by Angelina Litvin on Unsplash

By GhostHNW

C’mon! Give Me Ideas, My Creative Mind!

A short limerick about the plight (and some humour) of a creative mind.

2 min readMay 3, 2024

--

C’mon! Give me something of an idea, my creative mind!
Bring me some nifty words to pour through; to pry this narrative bind!
Sometimes, you could unfurl absurd worlds and lore too;
While others, you would laze around like a bored crew.
Let me think of some wild, vile and stylish phrases. Hey, this one rhymes!

Ok, how ‘bout that short story from a competition I once wrote?
That struck a chord with the readers and gave me an imperious gloat?
Surely, I could make the lightning strike twice again.
But, I recall that time, I couldn’t rack my brain.
And even with rumination, I still feel it can be improved. D’oh!

Ugh… ok! How about that time when Uncle Andy played a prank on Kim,
If I recall, he did this by farting near her when she is downwind?
Oh, I remembered I was laughing way too hard,
Until I almost choked on my chocolate bar.
And he slipped away like a scheming troll he was. Hah, hope God blessed him.

Oh, would you look at that? I just looked at the clock on my desk.
It’s half past midnight, and still I only have this jumbled mess.
Oh well, I don’t have any minutes left to spare.
Time to pack it all and sleep with my cat, Astaire.
Welp. It is another visit to the Dream Express, I guess.

Wait a minute, I just realized that I’ve written myself a limerick.
And I have inserted some form of rhyming scheme and little, lame gimmicks.
Oh my God, am I indeed a goddamn genius?!
Like Adams, Hemingway and Tolkien? Like Venus?!
Oh, thank you for that random spontaneity, my creative mind! Wait…

Fuck!
Oh, sorry Astaire.

This limerick was brought to you by GhostHNW of Sundry Scribes, a Malaysian writing collective. Interested? Our Discord is open to writers and readers alike.

Oh, sorry Astaire.

--

--

Sundry Scribes is a Malaysian writing collective. We write both nonfiction and short fiction topics.