First Time to Tibet: Unveiling the Real Life of Tibetan People

Sunshine
4 min readAug 29, 2023

--

Today, I am taking you on an exciting journey to Lhasa, Tibet. This trip was unplanned, but when my friends Zhao and Qin, two Chinese bloggers, invited me to join them on their road trip through China’s national highway G219, I couldn’t resist. So, I packed my bags, bought a ticket, and embarked on an adventure to the roof of the world.

The Journey Begins

My journey started at Dali airport, where I was both excited and nervous about the altitude sickness that many travelers experience when reaching high-altitude cities like Lhasa. Fortunately, after a good night’s sleep and checking my oxygen level with a small device, I was ready to explore the city.

A Day in Lhasa

My hotel room in Lhasa was beautiful, with a big walnut tree outside the window and plenty of sunshine. Lhasa is often called the city of sunlight, and I could see why. After a quick tour of my room, I took a bus to the central area, Baker Street, the old city center of Lhasa.

The Sacred Jokhang Monastery

The Jokhang Monastery is one of the most sacred monasteries for Tibetan Buddhism. It was built in the 7th century by King Songzan Ganbu and Princess Wencheng of the Tang dynasty. Pilgrims from all over Tibet travel thousands of kilometers, sometimes even on foot, to pay homage to the statue of Sakyamuni in the monastery.

The Busy Streets of Lhasa

The streets of Lhasa are bustling with monks, believers, and tourists. I had a meal at a popular restaurant, rode an e-scooter, and explored the beautiful architecture of the city. The buildings are painted with beautiful patterns and colors, and the streets are filled with friendly locals and interesting shops.

The Big Mosque and Food Market

Lhasa is home to three main ethnic groups: T ibetans, Hui people (mainly Muslims), and Chinese Han. I visited the big mosque in Lhasa and explored the food market in front of it, where I tried various local foods, including different types of cheese and bread.

The Traditional Tea House

I also visited a traditional tea house, where I had to figure out the system of getting a glass and paying for the tea. It was a bit confusing at first, but I eventually got a glass of hot, sweet tea.

The Majestic Potala Palace

My day in Lhasa ended in front of the majestic Potala Palace, the former winter palace of the Dalai Lama, now a museum. Unfortunately, I couldn’t show you the inside as filming and photo taking are not allowed.

Final Thoughts

My time in Lhasa was limited, and there were many beautiful places, temples, and palaces that I didn’t get to show you. However, I hope this glimpse into the real life of Lhasa has amazed you as much as it amazed me. If you want to know more about my future trips in Tibet and Xinjiang, subscribe to my channel and get further notifications.

--

--

Sunshine

Exploring the unseen corners of the world, one city at a time. Specializing in travel blogs that bring you closer to local life and hidden gems.