Superton
4 min readAug 24, 2022

3 effective ways to stop drinking soft drinks

When I was a kid, I was a Pepsi or Coke lover. I made an effort to drink them every single day. Moreover, some days I bought a slurpy from 7–11; soft drinks made my day. I was happy so much. Soft drinks and slurpies in 7–11 had developed a strong reputation over the years. Everyone loved them so much. Especially during summer break, due to hot weather, every kid consumes them a lot. I observed what happened to me: I suffered from stomach-ache. Then, I went to see a doctor. The doctor told me: you have a problem with your stomach called “gastritis.” It was a long-term health condition that the doctor recommended I stop drinking soft drinks. The first time, I ignored it, although I suffered from stomachache. In my opinion, I considered it a small problem. I had been hanging in there for several months. Until I changed my ideas. Finally, I was able to stop consuming them. I observed my face was brighter than in the past, my acne was reduced, and my energy increased. I was proud of myself: I could do it. Many people appreciated me because it is such a difficult thing in the world that no one could do it. Nowadays, I encounter those who like to drink soft drinks. They told me that I was so lucky. Because they consume so many soft drinks, the majority of them have type 2 diabetes.I suggest they stop drinking. Some of them follow my instructions, whereas some ignore them and say “ that’s all right.”

I realise that diabetes type 2 is a fatal disease because other diseases follow it, such as kidneys failure, neuropathy, and so on. I’ve seen extreme cases where they’ve cut their leg or finger. If your blood sugar rises too high, your wounds will be infected by bacteria.

1. Cut the volume

It is a general method that is effective. Back to 2019, it was the first year I started off running. One day, I drank a can of coke. Afterward, I went to a park where I ran. My heart rates were elevated because I ran slower than yesterday but my heart rates were higher. Moreover, I was tired a lot from a shorter distance than yesterday. I generally ran 5–7 km everyday, but I could only run 3 km or 4 km. Then, I observed what happened that day; I considered that a bad run. Finally, the internet, on which I read information and articles. Based on articles, every soft drink or sugary drink contains a large amount of caffeine, leading to an increase in your heart rate. I put so much effort into stopping consuming soft drinks: I attempted to reduce the quantity of consumption and switched to drinking water instead. Although it is so difficult, I believe everyone can do it.

2. Choose low GI foods

That’s true; everyone loves to drink and eat snacks because they feel hungry after 3–4 hours of a main meal. It is difficult to say that there are effective methods to get rid of that feeling. You should change your diet from high GI foods to low GI or medium GI ones. Foods with low GI or medium GI (glycemic index) will slowly change to sugar, which helps you fight against your hunger. Sometimes it lasts for more than 4 hours. In addition, staying hydrated will help too.

3. Patience and discipline

I sit in my home. I see those who are soft-drink addicted, buying a can or a bottle of Pepsi or Coke every day. They always complain to me that if you stopped drinking it, you would be at a lower risk of diabetes type 2. It is true. Someone who hates to drink water consumes soft drinks instead of water, at least 2–3 litres per day. Finally, they end up with diabetes type 2 and other chronic diseases. In fact, most chronic diseases will be caused by diabetes, such as chronic kidney failure, peripheral neuropathy, and so on. They always ask me how to stop drinking soft drinks. I answer there are 2 things: patience and discipline.

I think everyone is able to stop drinking soft drinks. Not consuming soft-drinks will benefit you at all costs. I guarantee your health will get better and better. Chronic diseases will be at low risk. Drinking water and exercising are the most effective ways to be healthy. In terms of exercise, it controls your blood sugar and reduces your blood pressure. Blood sugar will be drawn while you are exercising to exert force. Drinking water promotes good health and supports every organ’s ability to function well.

Health is the most precious thing in the world; it is more than Rolex.

Believe me, you will be surprised after consuming soft drinks as well as alcohol and quitting smoking.

Superton

IM a new writer . I will publish a work based on my knowledge or interview so many people.