How I survived until I reached Qualys

Supriya Supekar
6 min readMay 18, 2022

--

After clearing my 12th, I had ambitions of building a solid career in IT. But, since my younger sister cleared her 10th the same year, my parents were unable to afford higher studies for both of us. It was a time for choice. And, I unwillingly took a step back for my sister’s brighter future. While my sister moved out to be admitted to a district college, I settled for a diploma in computer engineering in my hometown.

I did not give up on my ambitions, though. I studied hard to consistently secure first place in my diploma.

My next plan of action was to enroll in a degree college, but again, circumstances were not in my favor. My family’s financial crisis was still stagnant. I figured that just surrendering to the situation wouldn’t help me. If I want to make a change, I must get out of this poverty trap.

I pondered it for weeks and weeks — what can I do to achieve my goals? Then, an idea struck me. It seemed bold at first, because I being a small-town girl, had a lot of battles to fight for. But, I realized this was the only step to a brighter future.

So, gathering all my courage, I went to my parents and told them, “I’ve decided to take my education responsibility on my shoulders. The journey will be hard, of course, but I will figure it out. “ I tried my best to explain what was on my mind. My father, wishing the best for his daughter, promised to support me. With great difficulty, he gathered 1000 rupees and handed it over to me for my travel expenses.

With a determined heart and tears in my eyes, here I was in Pune, turning over a new chapter in my life.

At the start, I stayed with my relatives and started looking for a job based on my diploma. My plan was to move out of my relatives’ place as soon as I became financially independent. While I searched frantically, no company was interested in hiring me. The reason was obvious — I did not have a bachelor’s degree!

While the days were building up, I figured that just waiting around for a job wouldn’t help. So, I took up odd jobs as a part-timer and volunteered while simultaneously looking for scholarships. All of this was in the hope of earning some money to climb the next ladder of success — earning a bachelor’s degree.

There were numerous obstacles in my way — relatives’ pressure, emotional turmoil, financial restrictions, and what not. But, with great patience, I was managing my life one day at a time. There were days when there was no food on my plate.

Still, I kept on with the struggle until one fine day, a few NGOs agreed to lend me a scholarship. It was a moment of huge relief. I ran to fill out the admission form for the degree college. Little did I know, there was another challenge waiting for me.

When I reached the counter, I was asked for a considerate amount of money to book my spot in the college. The truth is that I had no money. I tried my best to convince them that the money would come as soon as I showed the admission receipt to the NGO, but they would not budge. I even had the confirmation receipt of the scholarship to show, but that did not help.

I was helpless. My heart ached to be left so alone in my struggle. There was a crowd of young boys and girls wandering around with their parents by their side, smiles and excitement on their faces to join a new college. I wish I had the same for me. I knew calling my parents or relatives wouldn’t help me, but I still decided to give it a chance. I was crying like mad, asking them to lend me a very small loan, but neither of them was ready. They even disconnected the call in the middle of the conversation.

I lost my balance and started crying like a child in the middle of the campus. I was deeply hurt. I did not care if anybody was watching me. That’s when a middle-aged man came up to me and asked me what happened. I was going through so much pain that I cried and vented out in front of him all my struggles so far. He listened to me carefully, and led me to get the admission. Yes, this man who gave me so much of his time and understood me was none other than the college principal. I still owe gratitude to this man.

My college started soon, and I naturally assumed that good days were coming, but I was shattered when my relatives asked me to leave their house all of a sudden.

As if this was not enough, my parents began doubting my abilities. According to them, if I could not stay with my relatives, I would not be able to finish my degree. The NGOs can fund my college fees, but what about lodging and food? How am I going to manage that? They told me to leave these fancy aspirations of education and return to my hometown.

I could not do that. What was the purpose of coming this far if I had to give up? So, I spoke to my principal, and he agreed to accommodate me in the college hostel. But, the shelter over my head came at an extra cost. I have to now pay for my college as well as hostel fees. The struggle was real.

At the age of enjoying my college years, I was working day and night to complete my education. Finally, I obtained my degree and passed with distinction. The financial problem was still there. And now, my aim was to fix it.

While I was looking for a job, I also took the CDAC entrance exam at my friends’ insistence. They said that in Pune, if you take the CDAC course, it is much easier to get a place in a good company and in a core technical job. So, I agreed to it, unaware that I could not afford it.

The results were out, and I cleared the entrance. I was full of joy, but it did not sustain for a long time, when I came to know that the course was worth a whopping 1 lakh. It was impossible for me to afford it.

Things took an ugly turn when my relatives began making fun of me as I had not yet secured a job. I tried explaining them, but without success. Everybody started forcing me to stop wasting time and get married right away. Even my parents stood against me this time. I was completely broken.

That was when my grandfather stood by me like a rock. He gave up all his savings for me and told me to get admitted to the CDAC course. I was guilty of using his savings, but I had no choice. I took his help.

I completed my course within six months, but those were the hardest months of my life. Even after putting in all these efforts, I was not driving it till the last round of getting placed, which made the situation worse. Now it’s been two months that I have been looking for the correct job profile after CDAC. My parents started losing hope, and they started calling me back, which put additional pressure on me. It was now nearly impossible for me to survive in Pune.

I could not understand where I was lagging in getting a job of my choice. I did everything under my control but still failed. Now it was coming down to the question of my survival.

My parents have already begun collecting money for my return ticket. I was almost dead inside, thinking of giving up and going back to my hometown.

But then something magical happened. It was a call that changed the course of my life entirely.

The call was from none other than Qualys, a leading cyber security firm, I always wanted to be a part of. What happened next is history!

At that time, if Qualys had not approached me, I would not be where I am today.

--

--

Supriya Supekar

#Goal_Digger #ClappingForHustlers #ProtagonistByNature #HighOnAquariusTraits ~Jotting my life experiences so that I could look back on my erudition