How to make delicious Asian protein sweets?

The amazing Jen
3 min readSep 30, 2023

--

https://www.sizzlingtastebuds.com/cashew-coconut-barfi/

Introduction:

I’ve been noticing more and more that I don’t want just any candy that makes me feel sick or gives me an allergic reaction. After all, we don’t know the full ingredient list of what’s sold in packages in supermarkets. This is because they simply don’t write it, because people wouldn’t want to buy it if they knew what insects were found in it, or what dangerous chemicals were added to the composition of sweet food.

So my husband and I started making sweets ourselves.

Why Asian sweets?

My husband was born in India. India boasts a diverse range of cuisine, in contrast to Western countries where the selection, particularly in terms of healthier options, is comparatively limited, which is regrettable. My partner often pampers me by preparing Indian cuisine for me. And I’ll be honest, I’ve never tried anything like this before, and it’s so delicious.

So what is this sweetness?

Cashew Coconut Barfi

Ingredients:

Why protein candy?

photo made by author

Cashew nuts contain 21 grams of protein per 100 grams.

Instructions:

  1. Take a regular grinder, pour your cashew nuts into it, grind them into crumbs.
  2. Preheat a frying pan, add a little ghee. Pour in our ground cashew nuts, also ground coconut. Then we add Jaggery, mix everything in the pan and add milk to the consistency of dough or sour cream. The mixture should not be liquid. Mix everything and turn off the pan so it doesn’t burn. (We did everything by eye — we didn’t set the time, we didn’t weigh how much to add. So do it at your discretion.)
  3. After that, transfer the resulting mixture to a plate and refrigerate for 30–40 minutes.
Us Cashew Coconut Barfi))) Photo made by author.
My Jaggery, what near finish (( I must new buy.
My organic Ghee, what finish.

Conclusion:

Hurray!! Your sweet protein is ready! Healthy and delicious) Enjoy your meal! Of course, it is not recommended to abuse.

For a richer flavor, you can add chopped dried fruits or seeds to the mixture.

Call to action:

Share your recipes in the comments, clap, and subscribe (I will answer in return).

--

--