How I was scammed? There is no such thing as easy money.

The amazing Jen
4 min readSep 28, 2023

--

Photo by Heraldsun company

Of course, we all need money to fulfill various necessities. We work to sustain ourselves and our families, ensuring security in the present and the future.

Scammers have meticulously studied our psychology, particularly how precious our families are to us — a sentiment they exploit, knowing we’d spare no expense for them. This includes falling for the allure of easy earnings, hoping to attain financial freedom. Even the act of entrusting our Bitcoin to a stranger, who, despite being unknown to us, assures credibility through Instagram followers and images of people supposedly benefiting from their partnership.

But what happened to me?

On that fateful day, I found myself jobless with some savings on Binance. Contemplating how to double my savings, I received a message on Instagram. The sender introduced themselves as a professional account manager from a cryptocurrency mining investment platform, offering an enticing proposition: ‘Invest €250 and potentially earn €3000 within just 3 days. Are you interested?’

Intrigued, I inquired, ‘What is your benefit? Surely, you’re not doing this out of sheer benevolence.’ Their response clarified that a 20% commission would be deducted when transferring earnings to my card. The offer seemed promising, and with that in mind, I decided to give it a try, starting with $100.

The person provided a website where I needed to register: novatradeoption.com. After registration, I was instructed to wait. Three days later, I checked my account and was astonished to find $3890. Excitement washed over me, and I was ready to withdraw the funds. However, the system requested an additional $550. Perplexed, I considered this discrepancy, recalling the promised commission deductions. It was at this point that I realized the truth behind the situation. I was disheartened by the loss of the funds, but grateful it wasn’t a substantial sum.

SCAM in NFT

Navigating the NFT realm, I sought to try my hand at it. Creating an account on OpenSea, I crafted a couple of artworks and shared them on a Facebook group well-versed in NFTs. Within an hour, I received a message from an individual expressing interest in purchasing my paintings for $10,000 — a tremendous opportunity. However, to proceed, I needed to fund my Meta wallet since offering such a value was not possible for free. I priced each painting at $5,000, confirming my readiness to proceed. The response promised a transfer within 10 minutes, but as 20 minutes passed, no funds arrived, and communication ceased.

my really story in screen

Concerned, I inquired about the status, receiving reassurances that all was well. Despite these assurances, the transaction never materialized, prompting the customer to suggest writing to the manager whose email address had been provided to me, ostensibly for clarification. And he asked me to write specifically to this address: Opensea.financechat.io@gmail.com. I believe that the link is encrypted there, or there is a scammer behind this link who will write, your account is blocked — so that they can transfer the money to you / please pay $500. But I did not write to this dubious mail.

I contacted the manager via the email listed on the genuine website and discovered that I was a victim of a FRAUD.” But thankfully, this time there were no financial losses.

What valuable lessons did I learn?

- Now I know that there is no easy money. You can’t trust some people you don’t know about how to make quick money, not even your family;

- You cannot follow links that offer money, as your account may be hacked;

  • Also in Germany there is a website where people sell things cheap and rent them out, this website is eBay. When you buy or sell always check accounts to see how long they have been there. If your account was created recently and you are asked to give your number or pay for an item online, you should know that these are scammers.

No matter where you are, many people know IT technology and use it to deceive. If you have become a victim of scammers, share your experience. It will be interesting to hear about their antics.

--

--