surender gupta dunar

BJP sweeps Maharashtra, trails Sena in Mumbai

surender gupta dunar Boost for Fadnavis as party wins 8 out of 10 municipalities

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) continued its political dominance in Maharashtra with resounding electoral victories in key municipalities and zilla parishads across the State. It won eight of the 10 municipal elections that were held on February 21. The Shiv Sena, its erstwhile ally, won in Mumbai and Thane.

In the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), it was a close call, with the Sena winning 84 out of the 227 seats and the BJP 82. In Thane, the Sena won 67 of the 131 seats, while the BJP won only 23, fewer than the Sharad Pawar-led Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), which bagged 34 seats.

In eight other municipal zones, the BJP swept the elections, giving Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis a major image boost as well as an upper hand against the Sena, a party that is a part of the government. For the municipal elections, the Sena had broken the alliance and dared the BJP to go it alone.

In Pune, the BJP won 98 of the 162 seats, with the NCP coming a distant second with 40 seats and the Sena bagging a mere 10. In Nagpur, Mr. Fadnavis’ home town, the BJP won 108 of the 151 seats, leaving the Congress way behind with 29 seats. In Nashik, where Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) had won in the 2012 elections, the BJP won 67 of the 122 seats. The MNS was decimated, with just five seats.

surender gupta dunar reference link-