JogFalls 1000KM Randonneuring

Suresh Subbaiah
29 min readApr 12, 2022

--

Jogfalls Ride Summary:
Finished 1000+km in 72:00hrs Elapsed time.
Moving time: 51:41hrs.

Chapter 1: Jog Introduction

Have been hearing of Jog Falls ride from more than a year (Since March 2021). Back then I was a rookie just started off riding and Sagar showed me what it takes to ride #Anchetty.
https://www.strava.com/activities/4940440646

Anchetty Ride March 2021

Chapter 2: Registration

Jog logo

Registration for the ride was opening in a month I was not sure of doing it, due to various issues going in personal and professional side, in due process Sagar completed his GoH and I quit TwinHills 600km ride due to mechanical issue. I could have pushed and gave a try but somehow felt it was not my day called off at 60km. It was long time since I had done more than 300km ride, I was not sure if I should register or skip it, I didn’t want to disappoint Sagar if I do so it will be his 4th attempt and a failure.

Gave a thought about it and I was expressing the things that’s going on I was letting him know about how I am feeling it, also I feel I am not ready for the ride, mentally and physically. He had confidence in me more than me and followed up continuously to register for the event.

Jog Falls Flyers from Bangalore Randonneur Club
Jog Falls Flyers from Bangalore Randonneur Club

Chapter 3: Preparation

Next, we have 4 weeks and I had no time for preparation and occupied on all weekends, I was talking with Sagar, and we were finding out the probable free time between our schedules. Finally, March 26th after Sagar finishing up his work, we started at 3:45pm Saturday for Coorg 600km customised route including GoH Sowmwarpet section (GOH Riders can feel this route). I had an opportunity to volunteer for 2 LRMs Chalukya 1200 and Gates Of Heaven 1200 both different sort of rides, apart from being volunteer I try to analyse things and feel where as a rider we can improve. This set the base for me to spend time with Mohan Sir and discuss with him and Sir used to share his experiences as he rides a classic MTB even now.

From GateOfHeaven 2022, Lingadahalli Climb (Credits: Mohan Sir)
Chalukya 1200 2021

Now, the task is to know my body, instead of finishing it, priority is to note down the strength and weakness. I feel I can do long stretches without stops and have a feeling I am good at pushing at climbs. Despite multiple punctures we could cover with an hour buffer in the deadly climbs (For me).

Puncture 1 at Somwarpet Climb
Puncture 2 at VirajPet

Things to worry before Coorg ride, Saddle soreness (trying Decathalon Foam Shorts, up to 400km no issue), sleep management, Saddle height problem from my previous experiences and Continuous Climbs.

1. Attire, try doing the same setup that’s going to be for 1000km. Used to be flip flop rider

2. Saddle soreness (Coconut oil and some desi Chamois cream trying for first time worked to an extent)

3. Sleep (Coffee Coffee Coffee and Coke) I don’t recommend it.

4. Climb (Consider Climbs as just another flyover climb)

As I said above more than finishing know the strength and weaknesses of you and that really will work out.

https://www.strava.com/activities/6857246400

Strava ride graph

Chapter 4: April Started, before Jog Falls start…

As we entered April, a week left for the ride to start I was at a situation whether to drop off due to office work. Somehow managed to get a day off on Friday that is April 8th and Ride was on April 7th 4pm start.
Mohan sir told the riders to reach Kanteerva Stadium by 2:30pm to finish the ride formalities and be ready for start.

The day came, was focusing on wrapping up things and get some good power nap but that was not happening, I was getting late and won’t be able to reach the designated arrival time, finally at 3:05pm April 7th wrapped up work and started towards Kanteerva Stadium. Carrying the drop bag and peddling was pain in traffic, reached start point like 10mins before the ride start(4pm I was late). Shiva received me and helped me in formalities, Nakul (Volunteer), Kirti (Volunteer) and Mani Sir (Volunteer) were handling out drop bag tasks and helped me in cooling my nerves and cracking jokes. I was feeling dehydrated and tensed was thinking of the problems how it will bother me.

Before Start from Home
Mani, Mohan, Nakul, Kirti (Volunteers for the rider, Credits: BR)

The haunting problem I had I was going to try new shorts from different brands which I hadn’t tried before, unfortunately the shorts I tried for Coorg torn off I had one spare for Jog and need another one from drop bag point. Looked out at Decathalon stores the one which worked out for me phased out I had no option to try different and new.

Note: Strong lesson never try new things for long rides.

Chapter 5: Jog Falls

Completed formalities at Konark Kanteerva, Sagar came over to find out if I had reached and we had to move to start line. Before going to start line, had to cross main road, traffic cops at Main gate took selfie of us, that was first time a cop taking my selfie with out I am paying :D

Chandana, Shiva and Binod Sir greeted us at start line felt good about it, the presence and seeing your friends makes your nerves settle. My objective was to feel the experience and I should not be a blocker for Sagar.

Start line
Start line
Anand, JayaPrakash, Me and Sagar (My Friends)

https://fb.watch/ck1UwBE12B/

Started the ride and we moved towards the given route (https://ridewithgps.com/routes/29421993) traffic was bit more at that time and I missed Sagar somewhere and I was riding solo till Nelamangala exit towards Hassan Highway, while riding we were greeting riders en-route.

Jog Route given to riders

I was clear that I don’t want to push at start but rather continue with flow and take it easy from start. As I was approaching Nelamangla, Hassan exit I had a feeling that I was stretching my leg too far than what it should be, continuing with that position will damage knee. Also I was looking for Sagar and he was just before toll, informed him I need to stop to fix the saddle, we took a break to fix the saddle height. Saw Anand nearby toll refilling his water it was somewhat humid at this point.

Hassan Highway
Hassan Higway

Plan was to stop before CP2(Hotel Mayura 105km), we wanted to finish dinner and then go to Control Point. Quickly got the brevet card signed and started moving towards next control point CP3 Belur. Next break point for us is at Udaipura 50km from Cp2,

Hassan Highway
Shop at Udaipura

I started feeling saddle soreness at 155km, since we were stopping, the break was like cooling point for soreness, we stopped at a shop at Udaipura. Ate Banana, and I was good with no sleep issue, after resting for some time we started towards Hassan city and from there Belur town, thought of not stopping over till CP3 but Sagar wanted to take break, he had some discomfort with his stomach. After, the break Sagar was on full on high mode started sprinting towards Belur, it was a rolling terrain and we had around 25km to cover to CP3.

At 3:30am April 8th we saw Volunteers waving at us as the CP was in front of BP Bunk, now the rider’s duty to get Brevet card signed and take it back. The next section till Mudigere its going to be rolling and no food, so we ate food arranged by Bangalore Randonneurs team and started towards Mudigere. As we started moving, the streetlights slowly started to diminish and it is just our lights that was lightening up the roads. The visibility of the road was becoming low due to Fog, so we had to ride carefully. Around 235km the junction to take right towards Mudigere decided to stop over, I could not bear the soreness and want to change shorts which I was carrying.

Somewhere on the way to Mudigere

From here, one must be careful and look for steep descents, bends and to add rumbles on road due to steep descend we tend to miss those rubbles and end up falling. After reaching Mudigere took a left and started towards Kottigehara one of the easiest sections, the day light started appearing, the fog and early Sun rays were too good for us to stop in the middle of the road to click photos.

We did not want to stop at Kottigehara but rather push till Kelagur for a coffee break at a known place.

Kottigehara to Kalasa
Coffee at Kelagur
Kelagur Tea Estates

At kelagur coffee shop, the KSRTC driver at coffee place told us some rider had fallen and was about to get rolled over my bus but he applied brake at the right moment and avoided the mishap. Hearing this reminded me an old instance happened month back which was very terrible incident, we finished coffee and started thinking who is that rider and see if we can help as getting network signals in that stretch is difficult too. Thank God the rider was all good, just some bruises on his hands and he was good and ripping in that section, we felt good after seeing him.

While we were about to reach Kalasa town, saw Mohan sir passing through us and once we reached Sagara Multi Cuisine Hotel, we saw Mani and Mohan Sir stopped for breakfast. That’s 310km done, we rested and had breakfast there, we know the next section going to be tough due to climbing and road being not that good. Around 9am Day2 reached CP4, Kudremukh Forest Checkpost 320Km, this is a critical CP the next 40km we won’t be getting any food and water and the terrain is full of climbs and rolling for next 30km and 10km descent. Finished Cp formalities and started the climb.

Kudremukha Forest Check Post (Credits BR)

The next 2–5km had some intense climb, the bad roads at climbs were slowing the rolling of tyres, kept the head down and started peddling at 1–3/1–2 gear ratios. Reached Kudremuka took some photos at the junction.

Kudremukh Iron Ore Company Limited
Kudremukh Iron Ore Company Limited
Kudremukh
Kudremukh Forest trail check post gate
Kudremukh National Park Road
Kudremukh National Park Road
Kudremukh National Park Road
Kudremukh National Park Road
Kudremukh National Park Road
Kudremukh National Park Road

Kudremukh is all about the first 5km and the last 5km, rest is rolling, you can see around and pass through. The road till South Kanara(SK) border is patchy and not that good, there is 6km descend one must be very careful while coming down. Once you reach SK Border Road till Kudremukh check post towards Padubidri is super good roads again one must be careful to not get bored due to continuous descend.

Kudremukh National Park Checkpost from Padubidri Side

After crossing Kudremukh checkpost, Sagar suggested we will eat Pineapple fruit salad which will be very good, we stopped to take break and have Pineapple and it was too good. From here its challenging to ride till Padubidri, due to high rolling and no tree cover, also windy till Padubidri.

Pineapple Salad

To further challenge up, Sagar had a flat like 5km from the check post. It seemed to be sidewall puncture, no signs of foreign particle in tyre. We quickly changed the tube and started towards Karkala the next town. We stopped over at Karkala Bypass for lunch and took some rest during the break.

Lunch at Karkala
Lunch at Karkala

It was getting challenge to ride till Padubidri due to rolling and wind blowing right into your face also sun showing no mercy beating us up left and right. Felt one of the tough sections to ride, somehow pushed and reached Padubidri highway thinking the wind will ease and its flat terrain from here on.

Man, I was wrong had my toughest time to ride till Udupi CP5, in between Mohan sir car passed. They pulled over seeing me, Mani sir came out from vehicle and passed me Butter Milk after that they left, I got survived here.

Udupi Krishna Temple Arch

We stopped for an hour at CP5, freshened up and ate ice cream. In between many riders went past we took our time and started at 6:40pm Day2.

Cp5

The next section till Maravanthe beach and Kollur turn it is a boring ride and traffic was coming in wrong side which was making me feel tired and I was not able to ride. Stopped aside and took coffee shot to see If I can continue, but that did not work, and next after few kms saw a temple which was lighted up to take picture, spoke with Sagar that I am not getting motivation to ride on this stretch.

Udupi Highway
Temple somewhere at Kudapura

Now, we decided to swap and ride 5km each, there you go this is the moment Sagar started his Toofan mode on, we were sprinting, and I was just following him, and the boredom and sleep gone out it was like we covered 30km in around 50mins.

We decided to stop for dinner as going forward we were not sure we will get any hotels to eat, also Sagar knows the hotel is good which they tried last time. Stopped like 10km to Kollur turn to have dinner (9pm Day2), finished our dinner packed Curd rice in case if we get hungry in forest sections. Here Sagar was insisting to have power nap, but I have problem in sleeping in sounded place, I told Sagar to sleep but I won’t be able to sleep somehow convinced him to not sleep at dinner place but rather sleep somewhere at bus stop towards Kollur town, and then we started towards Kollur. He showed me the place where he slept and fallen in his last Jog stint, it was bright, and 4 lane highway did not understand how he slept and went on other side and crashed.

Just thinking of that incident, we reached the turn location to go towards Kollur turn. In few metres after taking turn from highway the road went completely dark, and the rolling started, we started discussing and arguing on the plus and minus points from the ride we started. Some open feedback between us and we were acknowledging the mistakes and try to fix in the coming hrs, that was funny conversation and we were arguing on our points, by the time we finished our topics we reached Kollur CP6.

Towards Kollur
CP6 Mookabika Hotel Kollur

We reached around 11pm at Kollur town and did not expect the town to be awake. To our surprise hotels were opened and people were moving around. We thought to have food and continue the next leg of the journey which has the toughest climb from the entire Jog route. Mentally I was prepared of this climb which lasts for 13km and 8% grade. Ordered Chapati at the hotel we stopped over, food was too good ended up eating 3 chapatis and had Pomegranate Juice.

Chapati with aloo curry at Kollur Town

After having food, with in few metres of ride the elevation of the road started going up, in initial section the climb had bit decent ascent. After moving like 1–2km the elevation started getting steeper and no lights been seen anywhere around It was just me and Sagar our cycles no human movement around that location, was hearing few noises from the forest but nothing was going into our mind and we were focused on going to top.

After some time, we saw few vehicles movement it was like 12am we were climbing in the midnight, just me and Sagar and the chain noise was too loud. Then we saw some lights from behind fast approaching towards us, felt surprised who else riding this fast as we didn’t see any riders crossing us or were behind in last CP. We heard the voices of the riders; there you go it was Swamy sir and Prasad sir they slept at Kollur town and started after quick nap. We spoke while climbing and after that they were too fast, and they went past long way from us. Then what happened next is mad climb ride by me and Sagar, Sagar started his beast mode, full throttle on I was trying to catch him from behind, we crossed Swamy sir and then Prasad sir. By the time we reached peak that’s like 520+mt of elevation from Kollur town. Didn’t know we climbed such distance and when the descent started, I could not see my man anywhere, it was too dark I thought I lost my way and was thinking where am I, Finally saw check post gate and Mani sir waiting other side showing sign to cross the gate, and he told to go back and come from different route I was like that’s some forest department rules and started going back But Mani sir was joking. :D

Forest checkpost at 530Km

That is 530km Nagodi Forest checkpoint we didn’t expect Hydration point to be here, as we were told it will be at 550km at Sullali, this was a surprise. There was water, Dilpasad, Curd rice, Flavored milk, Chocos available at Hydration point. Ate dilpasad got brevet card signed and filled water. Swamy sir and Prasad sir reached the point, and they started taking power nap. We decided to move thinking it will be rolling, but I was wrong the deadly climbs still exists till Sullali which is like another 20km to ride. At Sullali I felt like I need to take rest and have a power nap, informed Sagar I cannot continue ride and decided to sleep. We found a Govt school location at Sullali it was clean and there was no sound pollution, we parked bike and removed all accessories and started taking nap, around 3am I guess I slipped into sleep and Swamy sir and Prasad sir reached and they too took rest at same location. By the time we were ready streetlights which was lightening up the whole location had gone, and it had become too cold and foggy.

The next section till Mandara Comforts 604km CP7 it was high rolling terrain, and you don’t see much of human movement and villages, full empty stretch don’t know what could be the terrain looked like in day time, we were passing just seeing the bike light on the road and continuing the route. My target was to reach drop bag point by 38hrs to get that extra 2hrs cushion time, we seemed to be crossed over 40hrs timeline at some point but then we made up the loss of time and reached by 38:40hrs. Saw Nakul at entry, cheering us, that feeling of reaching drop bag point gave sigh of relief.

My saddle soreness was too bad, I wanted to take shower badly and rest sometime cooling the BUM heat. Me and Sagar got a same room were Raghu Nandan (Another rider) was already there in the same room. Spoke about the ride with Raghu, and I quickly went to take bath, our plan was to freshen up, finish breakfast and then sleep and start by 8:30am. But I slipped into sleep after bath and got up around 9:00am only when Anand came and checking up on us. We were good with the timing, so we were not worrying much, packed up everything had breakfast and came to room to pick drop bag to hand it over to volunteers. While leaving room, I opened up about my saddle soreness issue to Raghu (He has full of knowledge on all subjects) if he can suggest anything to ease the pressure. He was kind enough to lend his Anti Chaffing cream and gave instructions on how to apply it. Now the clock was ticking and it past 9:30am, wished everyone at hotel and we were ready to go at 9:40am.

By the time we were settling in saddle, reached Jog Falls Entrance, the entry fee for us and cycle were 10rs each, paid the fee and entered inside. Had a great feeling and something accomplished seeing the view of 4 distinct falls Raja, Rani, Roarer and Rocket it was special moment for me as we reached to the iconic falls on a cycle. Since the flow was bit less we were able to see the full clear view, clicked some photos and shared it across the group as it was selfie point.

JogFalls Selfie
The iconic Jog Falls
Me at Jog falls with Jarvis

The task of reaching Jog is done now, the game starts to reach Bangalore with in time as the coming sections are rolling and too boring. Once we went past Jog falls, immediately climb started, the heat started to pick up and climbing was getting difficult. After the climb it was high rolling till Sagara and the roads are bit narrow should be careful of the traffic, I was not getting the motivation to ride but somehow managed to reach Sagara. We stopped at a Juice shop for a quick fresh fruit juice after that started journey towards Shimoga which is again a high rolling terrain, the roads are bit wide from Sagara to Shimoga. Good thing at this section is, the roads are covered with trees, we didn’t feel the heat but the rolling terrain and winds were sucking our energy. Sagar hinted we will stop by somewhere around Anandapura for lunch and then proceed to Shimoga. Once we reached Anandapura, asked a localite for good hotel around, he suggested Tirumala Hotel opposite to Bus stand. The hotel was bit off the main road we had to go inside.

While crossing the road and we took the inner road, a bike guy hit my handlebar and he went and crashed on road, lucky that I was alert and nothing happened. Bike guy was on phone and trying to blame me, locals started to gather I didn’t bother to go and help him as he was the person talking over phone and hit me. Without caring much about them we parked our cycles and went inside to have food, we rested had food and left the place.

Towards Shimoga

Between Anandapura and Shimoga we took 3Hydration brakes it was getting hotter and we were taking our own time to reach. By this time got a call from Anand that he has got mechanical issue with his bike, and the spokes nipple around rim had cracked around several places. Continuing with that rim is not possible, Mohan sir suggested Anand to talk to Swamy sir as he might have some contacts around Sagara-Shimoga location, nothing worked for him. He took tempo and tried to reach Shimoga hoping to fix the bike and to get back to the same location to start the ride. But fate had other plans for him, he had no option but rather forcefully quit. I felt really bad, I was getting thoughts in my mind reminding me of Twin Hills event were I had quit and joined Anand for the same mechanical issue. This time I somehow wanted to help, but nothing was working out. By the time we reached Shimoga, we wanted to check status he informed us he is going to quit. Hearing this out we navigated Shimoga town and reached outskirts of Shimoga town towards Bhadravathi road.

Anand rim(New Poygon Bike Stratoss S5)

Our water was getting emptied, Sagar suggested he wanted to take break and have quick power nap also to refill water. I didn’t want to push him but rather we stopped somewhere next to road, we rested at a place where it used to be an abandoned mutton shop it was filled with dust. We didn’t care, Sagar slipped into sleep, I tried to sit for some time then tried sleeping but I was not getting sleep. Got up and started walking on the road until Sagar gets up. He woke up, 5mins before the alarm time we had set, got back on to the saddle and started moving towards Bhadravathi. By this time we saw Ganesh fellow rider passing us, last we had seen him before CP1. Asked him about whether all is going good with him, this guy didn’t sleep for the entire duration and letting us know that he is late and wanted to finish at any cost, we know we had like 5–6hrs buffer but this guys was crazy and didn’t want to stop anywhere.

Sagar and me after riding with Ganesh, then started cruising in those bad roads towards Bhadravathi, in distant we saw thick clouds in the sky and I was telling it is raining somewhere in front, hopefully by the time we reach it should stop. Like we guessed it started raining with heavy winds and the trees fell on the road and blocked the traffic for long after Bhadravathi town. Once we reached Bhadravathi we stopped for juice stop, we took our time and I was checking whatsapp group for updates realised that Bharat Jayaprakash posted, there is huge traffic piled up due to rain and be careful. Seeing this we took our time to start from Juice shop, after knowing that there is traffic and we will be stuck in middle. Ganesh who was behind stopped over at the same shop, where he quickly had juice and left the place it was like F1 pit stop. I was like, this guy is crazy.

Rain at Bhadravathi-Arsikere Location (Credits Jog riders)

The road from Bhadravathi to Kadur is too narrow, due to rain the traffic was huge and the sun is going down. Riding at this hour is very difficult, we somehow managed the traffic and reached the blocked traffic location. It was like more than 5km traffic jam on both side, had tough time to dodge the traffic and reached the fallen tree location, someone at the location hinted there are thorns from the tree, be careful in crossing, we decided to walk over the location. Seeing the traffic and people on the road, we were moving towards Kadur.

After dodging the traffic and getting back on track to go towards next destination, Sagar informed that he started to feel hungry and we will stop at Tarikere to have food it was like another 15km to Tarikere town. We stopped over at a good food point at Tarikere, we ordered Dal Kichidi and Coffee. The quantity was huge, I could not eat it fully took parcel of the remaining. Raghu also stopped over at the same location we had a good chat, he has bundle of knowledge on every subject and explains in detail. After having our food, we said bye to Raghu and started moving to Kadur. Just before Kadur we stopped again to take Coke, just to be on safer side for the night ride.

Had an interesting incident at the shop, a localite was drunk and he was over enthused seeing us and hearing our stories and offered us cold packaged water and paid for our coke. We denied it, but he was very happy seeing us and want to offer.

Dal Kichadi at Tarikere

Note that, the road from Bhadravathi till Arsikere is such a pain to ride, you will feel all the pain in the entire body, there are rumbles everywhere not like 1–3 but 5–10 in one location. Got pissed of seeing the road condition and got a thought why should we ride, and to add the rain made it really tuff with slush around. Reached the Matthighata, Yogeesh farms CP well within the time, Sagar, dropped an idea we will sleep at CP after having dinner, in my mind I was like how many nap brakes one should give. For me if I am active, I wish to ride rather than taking breaks and instead prefer to move. After reaching CP I was convinced, will follow what Sagar suggested, quickly ate what I had packed at Tarikere and went to room to sleep. Sagar, was doing his regular chores, I was like let me sleep by the time he finishes off his routines.

Saw, riders sleeping all over the place, I too found a place and lied around. Closed my eyes but I was hearing the riders noise, there talks everything was kind of disturbing for me. I forced myself to get some sleep, I have a tough time to get sleep in the sounded location. As usual didn’t get sleep, started checking phone and closing eyes in between by the time Mani sir came around and got me up, as we planned to leave by 11:30pm in the night. Got freshened up, missed the usual photo from Mohan sir from CP point, and we were on saddle and riding towards Arsikere. The distance to take right was like 25 odd km but roads were so bad and killing our pace and energy. I was not all motivated at this location and wanted to have some drink Coke/Pepsi at next junction and we stopped over at a shop took Pepsi and sat for some time to relax as the next section is rolling till Chanarayapatna.

Group pic at Mathighatta Yogeesh farms CP (I was missing in the frame)

As we moved towards Chanrayapatna after some 10km Sagar wanted to take power nap and we stopped at a place which was clean and safe to lie down. We thought to take 30mins break as we had enough buffer to reach the end point, again I was not getting sleep and was simply lying down and looking at mobile. Once we hit our set time, saw Swamy sir and Prasad sir stopping by at the same location and they asked us to notify them while we are leaving, but couple of meters away from us we saw Barry trying to fix his puncture. Although he had changed the tube, the air was not filling up he was too worried, we stopped by and was checking all good with him, seeing his worried face Sagar went to check and it looked like something wrong with the tyre or tube.

Barry was complaining about his pump not working, I got my pump to check, it was same issue that the air was not getting in. Then we tried Sagar’s pump which was schrader valve we used the converter and then tried to fill air, it was again the same issue it seemed the air is not getting in. We thought enough is done, let us remove tube from tyre and check. Gatorskin tyres are very difficult to remove and also while refitting back to the rim we had broken one of tyre removal lever. After taking out the tube, when we checked the tube there was puncture in the tube it was leaking, now thats the issue for air not getting it. We quickly checked the tyre for any foreign particle and then used new spare tube which Barry had and fixed the tyre.

Barry had air pressure issue with other tyre too we checked and filled the air in both the tyres. We repacked all the items and then told Barry we will be moving slowly and you can join us. Before we move, we wanted to call Swamy sir to let them know we are moving as he told to inform him. Me and Ganesh started, Sagar was behind us and told he will inform them and start. From this section we started to sprint don’t know what motivated us, but it was real fun in that rolling terrain. Sagar crossed at some point and we could not catch him, but me and Ganesh were maintaining the same pace and from last 2–3km before highway junction we were in a state when we will the Highway comes.

Sagar who was ahead of us called me that he will be moving towards Bangalore highway and stop by somewhere at a Tea shop, we were out of energy after that sprinted effort. Sagar stopped by at a place, Coffee was good there, I ended up having 2 cups and ate Cucumber with chilli powder. By that time, Akash and Rohit team arrived, they too stopped by to have some coffee. I wanted to check up on Barry as he was behind and see if all is well with him, he informed he reached highway and coming towards Bangalore I told him we are at a place where there is coffee and asked him to check the place. After 15mins we still didn’t see Barry coming to the place, I called up again to check where is he, he told he is somewhere near to Adiyar hotel and told us he didn’t see any coffee shop, I was puzzled and asked the local shop guy to check if there is any hotel which Barry mentioned towards Bangalore highway. They were giving negative response, I called up Barry again and asked him to check with people around but he told he is on right road and he was very sure about it. Then I was convinced may be he was ahead, later came to know he is going towards Mangalore, looks like he was hallucinating and didn’t know what he asked for. Good that he realised and came back to correct route.

Early morning at Hassan Highway

We were moving on Bangalore Highway and the Sun was coming up and the distance to complete was like 150km far from End point and we had good buffer in hand. The next thing was for us to have Breakfast, started looking for the place and reached at a place where our Rohit and Akash team was having it. We stopped and order Idly and Vada by the time Mohan sir and Mani Sir arrived and they offered us water, Holige, and nutrients. We were full, filled up water and preparing to move, we took photo with the gang and started.

Breakfast

It was like 25km to Yediyur CP, I was riding slow and trying to push with Cadence. Reached CCD Yediyur as we had enough buffer, thought to take 90mins break in due time freshened up. All riders were coming by and the CCD place at some point filled with all our riders. By the time we were about to leave it was empty, we were the last ones to start from the CP9. Also there was huge gap from this control point for our next set of riders and all riders who were behind passed through this point. At this point I was calculating ETA in my mind and don’t want to take any risk in finishing up the ride as we had reached here comfortably we should be able to finish with ease without any issue. The buffer should help us giving the luxury in unforeseen circumstances and at the same time we should beware of not wasting time.

CCD Yediyru CP9

We started from CCD point, Ganesh and Sagar gained the momentum and I was behind them, after few minutes they were too far and not visible. I was waiting for my momentum to kick, once I was ready I started to sprint to kill the boredom. At some point after Kunigal they had stopped as Sunil sir team was having juice, also they were waiting for me to reach. I reached their place, Sagar was asking as I was fine, I told him I was just taking it slow. I didn’t want to stop and restart my flow but rather move ahead and informed Sagar we will stop in front if its needed, from this location I went with all out and sprinted till Solur. It was my best push for the final section, as we approached Solur thought of stopping over for lunch. But then SriRama Navami celebration was around, I was just informing Sagar all were preparing Panaka and Majjige if we were late by 30mins we could have had them. May be God heard that, like in another half km People stopped us to have Panaka and Majjige, we filled our tummies with the drink.

Panaka(Jaggery Water)

Now we were full and were in no mood to stop for lunch and targeting to reach directly to end point. But after Mahadevapura descent I was out of energy and feeling no strength in my legs. I gave a stop at the climb, this was the time I took out my electrolytes for the first time in the entire ride. After 5–10mins rest I started towards Nelamangla, as I reached toll Bois had stopped over and waiting for me. I informed Sagar I had no strength in legs and couldn’t push, he understood my situation we had Ice cream and filled water at the toll shops. Raghu who was there offered us Sugarcane Juice with the right combination of lemon salt and ginger it was too good to gulp. There you go, from here again we planned to do non-stop ride to End Control Point which was like 35km to go.

I was back to normal, but Saddle soreness was something it started to irritate, managed to reach Parle Factory climb, I was riding in my own dreams. That was when Sagar who was riding behind me called me, that’s where I came to senses and realized I was hallucinating, that one shout from him was the wakeup call for me. I told him good that you called me or else I would have crashed while hallucinating in that road, as we were talking we moved towards the elevated highway I was all well. Sagar informed Nats and Shiva will be somewhere at Gorguntepalya to visit us, but by the time we reached the place, got to know that they will come directly to End CP. Also Anand who works somewhere at Peenya was looking for our arrival we quickly waived at him and he informed he will be at Konark.

That’s it we were almost done I was approaching my first 1000km mileage in a single ride at around Sankey lake, I finished my 1000km clicked a photo of that magic number. From here on its just a walk away for us and we were well placed with the time and I was very sure I can walk and go if there is any mechanical issue at this point. We followed the exact route shared by Mohan sir while reaching towards Tonic and took the Mallya hospital road, Corporation circle and then entered Konark. Done guys we had completed big ride with ease and my buddy Jinx is broken I was very happy to see him finish with good buffer time.

1000KM Odo

Our boys were already there at Konark and were waiting for us to reach, on arrival they cheered and greeted us, we parked our cycles around and went and handed over brevet cards to get the final duties done.

All done now, what next get the Medal from the man who all our riders admire and have high respects. Got honoured for the ride completion, Bois were all around with all smiling faces.

Mohan Sir putting peeta
Honoured for completing the ride with Jog Medal

JogFalls 1000km is done, didn’t imagine I will complete it one day and that too with my Buddy Sagar. I Never care about result but this ride was different, focus was to enjoy the experience and go with the flow, there was pressure too but I would say we enjoyed the whole ride and some sections which were tough we have done with ease.

With Bois
WIth Bois
Me & Sagar
The Jog Medal
With Mohan Sir the Master we admire
With Ganesh

The creator and the bois.

The creator

Strava Activity: https://www.strava.com/activities/6960992022

Strava Route and Elevation graph
Ride Stat

Thanks for taking time and reading our experiences hope it helps in someway for you! Dream, work for it and don’t care for result. The success will follow at some point where you will be super happy to cherish. :)

Take care until next time!

--

--