WHY ALL THAT LATHERS IS NOT ALWAYS THE BEST CLEANER

aditi mishra
3 min readJun 28, 2015

caring for each hair strand, ditching the commercial hair care

The other day I was watching a popular yesteryear Bollywood entertainer movie. I am sure it must be among the favorites list of many. The dialogue from it is a probable hint to it’s name — “khushboodar, jhagwala chamko”.

If you are a millennial like me, then you must have got the name of the movie by now. Yes, it is the ‘Chashme Buddoor’ released in 1980s that I am referring to.

The one released in the year 2013 is ‘Chashme Baddoor’. Only a minor spelling difference exists in both. But being a writer, I am quite sensitive to spell checks (lol).

Though even if someone thought of the recent one, then also my hint holds true. It is because that popular dialogue is common to both the versions. Well, that speaks for all the popularity that that particular dialogue garnered.

I am somehow made to recall that particular dialogue from the movies quite often; to which I dedicate my ‘NO SLS’ policy as the reason.

If you are not from the natural living part of the world, then the abbreviation might seem alien to you. It refers to Sodium Lauryl Sulphate.

All I can tell you about SLS is that it is the most common surfactant in this world. This property of this substance makes it popular as a cleaning agent.

And as we all know, toiletries used for daily usage like the toothpaste, soap, face wash, scrub, shampoo, body wash, dishwasher soap, laundry detergent, utensil detergent, and all other household cleaners all serve the same and important purpose of cleaning. Hence, SLS turns out to be the important component of all these products mentioned. You can check that by having a closer look at the ‘Ingredients’ section of them.

That is the reason for my banishing the use of these products in my life.

Do not be amazed with my admission! I do use those products, but by making them myself. I manufacture them from a scratch from natural ingredients. Most of them are sourced from my own kitchen or a nearby local organic source. Thus, the cleaning agents that are present naturally on this Earth replace the SLS.

These natural stuff do not produce foam and lather at the drop of a water molecule on them. But trust me, they excel in their job quite well.

To name a few — baking soda, apple cider vinegar, and soap nuts are what I use most of the times.

I do not have anything personal against the SLS per se. But the more and more I get to know about it, I end up relating my yesteryear problems with it.

Be it the chain of aphthous ulcers, eczema or the numerous other skin allergies. I cannot help not associating them with the interference of SLS in my life.

Now there is no visible trace of this product in my life anymore. Thus, I live my life with a little more happiness and a lot less lather and foam.

But let me tell you, I still love to hear that dialogue from the reel world. Though I do not get to see it replicate in my real life any time soon.

khushboodar, jhagwala chamko

Let me know if anyone of you also have a story related or unrelated to lather and foam.

To keep this post readable under 5 minutes of time; I did not write a detailed study of SLS. You can read a lot about it here.

Images Courtesy: Pixabay

Receive my Hair Detox Course in an Infographic format

Receive my Hair Detox Course in an Infographic format

--

--

aditi mishra

freelance writer. currently working on my second book on hair care. http://amzn.to/1Tpb6JO